Afritondo Short Story Prize has announced the shortlist for its 2021 prize. The writers, who represent different countries from across the continent, were selected from an earlier sixteen-named longlist by a judging panel comprised of Edwige Renée Dro, Maneo Mohale, and Kiprop Kimutai.

The prize confers a cash prize of $1,000 to an unpublished work of fiction (between 3,000 and 5,000 words) by an African/Black writer. Four finalists will be awarded $100 each. All stories by longlisted authors will be published in an anthology.

See the 2021 Shortlist below:

  • Joshua Chizoma – Collector of memories (Nigeria)
  • Remy Ngamije – The Hope, The Prayer, And The Anthem (or, The Fall So Far) (Namibia)
  • Desta Haile – Ethio-Cubano (UK/Eritrea)
  • Faraaz Mahomed – Gracious (South Africa)
  • Justin Clement – Human cities (Nigeria)

The winner will be announced in an online ceremony open to the public on March 26, 2021.

Go here for details on the shortlist.

Congratulations to the writers.