Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Gabriel Okara.

Gabriel Okara, the first Modernist poet in Anglophone Africa, has passed on at the age of 97. He died on 25 March 2019, after a brief illness, in his home at Okaka Estate, Yenagoa, Nigeria—three weeks to his 98th birthday. Known for both his poetry and fiction—particularly his experimental novel The Voice (1964) and the poetry collections The Fisherman’s Invocation (1978) and The Dreamer, His Vision (2005)—Okara, who has been described as “the Nigerian Negritudist,” explored traditional philosophy, religion, folklore, and imagery. As editor of his Collected Poems, Brenda Marie Osbey wrote: “It is with publication of Gabriel Okara’s first poem that Nigerian literature in English and modern African poetry in this language can be said truly to have begun.”

Born on 24 April 1921, in Bumoundi, Yenagoa, present-day Bayelsa State, Nigeria, Gabriel Imomotimi Okara, the son of an Ijaw chief, attended Government College, Umuahia, and Yaba Higher College, Lagos. In 1945, after working at the British Overseas Airway Corporation, Okara began work as a printer and bookbinder for a government-owned publishing company in Nigeria. It was there that he began to write, translating poetry from Ijaw into English, writing scripts for radio.

After studying journalism at Northwestern University in 1949, and working as Information Officer for the Eastern Nigerian Government Service, in 1967-70, during the Biafran War, he was a roving ambassador for the newly declared country alongside Chinua Achebe. During the War, many of his unpublished manuscripts were destroyed. After the War, from 1972 to 1980, he was director of the Rivers State Publishing House in Port Harcourt.

In 1953, Okara’s poem, “The Call of the River Nun,” won a prize at the Nigerian Festival of Arts. By 1960, with his poetry frequently appearing in the influential Black Orpheus and being translated into several languages, he had been recognized as the leading poet of his generation. In 1962, he was at the seminal African Writers Conference at Makerere University College, Kampala, Uganda.

Okara’s collection The Fisherman’s Invocation received the 1979 Commonwealth Poetry Prize, and another, The Dreamer, His Vision, won the 2005 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature. His other books include the children’s books Little Snake and Little Frog (1981) and An Adventure to Juju Island (1992) and the poetry collection As I See It (2006).

In April 2017, the Gabriel Okara Literary Festival was organized by the University of Port Harcourt’s Institute of Arts and Culture. In May 2017, a collection of essays, Gabriel Okara, edited by Chidi T. Maduka, was released; it “tries to examine Okara, his place in African literature and the fact that he has not been given his full due in African literature. . . has not been given sufficient critical attention as an author.”

May he rest in power.

Tags: , , , ,

About Otosirieze Obi-Young

View all posts by Otosirieze Obi-Young
Otosirieze Obi-Young is a writer, journalist, & Deputy Editor of Brittle Paper. He sits on the judging panels of The Miles Morland Writing Scholarships and of The Gerald Kraak Prize. He is Nonfiction Editor at 14, Nigeria’s first queer art collective, which has published volumes including We Are Flowers (2017) and The Inward Gaze (2018). He is Curator at The Art Naija Series, a sequence of e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness, including Enter Naija: The Book of Places (2016), which explores cities, and Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (2017), which explores professions. His work in queer equality advocacy in literature has been profiled in Literary Hub. His fiction has appeared in The Threepenny Review and Transition. He has completed a collection of short stories, You Sing of a Longing, is working on a novel, and is represented by David Godwin Associates literary agency. He has an M.A. in African Studies and a combined honours B.A. in History & International Studies/English & Literary Studies, both from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He taught English in a private Nigerian university. He is currently nominated for the inaugural The Future Awards Prize for Literature. Find him at, where he accepts writing and editing offers, or on Instagram or Twitter: @otosirieze. When bored, he Googles Rihanna.


  1. Gabriel Okara, Whose Modernist Works Changed African Poetry, Passes on at 97 – Sirwebs Report - March 28, 2019

    […] Source: Brittle Paper […]

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Laila Lalami’s The Other Americans Longlisted for the 2020 Aspen Words Literary Prize


Moroccan-American novelist Laila Lalami’s The Other Americans has recently been longlisted for the 2020 Aspen Words Literary Prize. Described on the Aspen Prize’s […]

Apply for SBMEN’s Workshop “Literary Criticism: Judging Dynamic Creative Writing in All Forms”| 23 November

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 8.57.48 PM

The Society for Book and Magazine Editors of Nigeria (SBMEN) is calling for applications to its fourth (and last) editing […]

They Say There are Over 50 Translations of Things Fall Apart. Here are 61.

Achebe Translation Cover

How many times have you heard or read that Things Fall Apart has been translated into over 50 languages? And yet, […]

Vol. II of 20.35 Africa: An Anthology of Contemporary Poetry, Guest-edited by Yasmyn Belkhyr & Kayo Chingonyi, Now Available Here

20.35 Africa Issue II - graph

In November 2018, we published the debut volume of the 20.35 Africa: An Anthology of Contemporary Poetry series. The first […]

Oyinkan Braithwaite Wins the 2019 Anthony Award for Best First Novel

Photo credit: CrimeReads

Nigerian author Oyinkan Braithwaite has won the 2019 Anthony Award for her debut novel My Sister, the Serial Killer. Braithwaite […]

Winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards


On October 25, the African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) announced the winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards. The award announcement […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.