Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Image from Wole Talabi’s Twitter.

As part of its Harvester Series, a publication programme for collections of old and new stories plus bonus material, the Scotland-based indie press Luna Press Publishing released Wole Talabi’s debut short story collection Incomplete Solutions in June. In October, it will release Nick Wood’s Learning Monkey and Crocodile. Below are details of both books.

Incomplete Solutions by Wole Talabi

DESCRIPTION

From the bustling streets of Lagos to the icy moons of Jupiter, this debut collection of twenty stories from the vivid imagination of the award-winning Wole Talabi explores what it means to be human in a world of accelerating technology, diverse beliefs, and unlimited potential, from a uniquely Nigerian perspective. For fans of Tade Thompson and Nnedi Okorafor.

REVIEWS

Tade Thompson, Nommo Award-Winning author of Rosewater and The Murders of Molly Southbourne:

These are amazing narratives which show assiduous reflection on science, emotion, mysticism and philosophy. With such careful consideration, impeccable science and interesting characters, each story is prose that gently tickles the forebrain. Recommended.

Lauren Beukes, author of Zoo City and The Shining Girls:

Fierce and urgent – a remarkable new voice.

Geoff Ryman, Nebula Award-Winning author of The Child Garden, Was, and Air:

Wole Talabi mixes literary skill with speculative SF abilities to make him one of the spearheads of the African revolution in speculative writing.

Tendai Huchu, author of The Hairdresser of Harare and The Maestro, The Magistrate & The Mathematician:

A wonderfully eclectic showpiece of hard science fiction and fascinating speculation. The stories in this collection will blow your mind.

Wole Talabi. Photo source: unknown.

Wole Talabi is a full-time engineer, part-time writer and sometime editor from Nigeria. His stories have appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Omenana, Terraform, The Kalahari Review, the Imagine Africa 500 anthology, and a few other places. He edited the anthologies These Words Expose Us and Lights Out: Resurrection and co-wrote the play Color Me Man. His fiction has been nominated for several awards including the Caine Prize. He won a Nommo Award in 2018.

Book Release Date: 4 June 2019

Price: £9.99

Extent: 270 pages.

Learning Monkey and Crocodile by Nick Wood

DESCRIPTION

“Nick Wood’s short stories are powerful, impassioned visions of worlds and worldviews remade by way of redemptive engagement with the spirits of the earth and the earth of the spirit,” writes Nick Gevers. “Joining ancestral wisdom and transformative technologies, combining searing self-scrutiny with joyous awareness of the Other, Learning Monkey and Crocodile is a book for all of us.”

REVIEWS

Ursula K. Le Guin:

I read Bridges with much pleasure… Chilling and fascinating.

Strange Horizons:

Wood’s characterization is excellent.

Sarah Lotz on Azanian Bridges:

This is a gut-puncher of a novel; original, brilliantly written, and a page-turner of note.

Ian Watson on Azanian Bridges:

Politically acute and powerful, with its heart in the right place… in many ways a ‘textbook story’, because it’s so well done.

Nick Wood. Image from press.futurefire.net.

Nick Wood is a Zambian-born, South African-naturalised clinical psychologist, with over twenty short stories previously published in international venues, including AfroSF and AfroSF 2, amongst others. He has a YA speculative fiction book published in South
Africa entitled The Stone Chameleon, as well as a debut novel Azanian Bridges, which has been shortlisted for the Sidewise Award for alternative history, the Nommos Awards for African Speculative Fiction, the BSF Award, and the John W. Campbell Award.

Wood has completed Water Must Fall, a solar-punk thriller currently looking for a home. It is set in a near future in which drought devastates Southern Africa and California and new ways of living are sought in the struggle to survive the squeeze of both climate change and global capitalism.

Book Release Date: 18 October 2019

Price: £9.99

Extent: 218 pages.

To buy the books, or for more information on them, please visit Luna Press Publishing’s website.

Tags: , , , , ,

Otosirieze is Deputy Editor of Brittle Paper. He is a judge for the 2018/19 Gerald Kraak Prize and the 2019 Miles Morland Writing Scholarships. He is an editor at 14, Nigeria’s first queer art collective, which has published volumes including We Are Flowers (2017) and The Inward Gaze (2018). He is the curator of the Art Naija Series, a sequence of e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness, including Enter Naija: The Book of Places (2016), which explores cities, and Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (2017), which explores professions. His fiction has appeared in The Threepenny Review and Transition. He has completed a collection of short stories, You Sing of a Longing, is working on a novel, and is represented by David Godwin Associates literary agency. He combined English and History at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, is completing a postgraduate degree in African Studies, and taught English at Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu. Find him at otosirieze.com, where he accepts writing and editing offers, or on Instagram or Twitter: @otosirieze. When bored, he Googles Rihanna.

2 Responses to “Luna Press’ Harvester Series Includes New Collections by Wole Talabi and Nick Wood” Subscribe

  1. Ivor July 23, 2019 at 9:24 am #

    Nick Wood, not Woods.

    • Otosirieze July 23, 2019 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks for the correction, Ivor. The error was in only the title. Rectified now.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."

Archives

Bakwa Magazine Presents: Literary Translation Workshop in Collaboration with University of Bristol | How to Apply

Bakwa translation workshop

PRESS RELEASE: Bakwa Magazine, in collaboration with the University of Bristol, is pleased to announce that applications are open for […]

E.C. Osondu Wins the BOA Short Fiction Prize, Gets Publication Deal for His Manuscript, Alien Stories

EC Osondu

The Nigerian writer E.C. Osondu has won the $1,000 BOA Short Fiction Prize for the manuscript of his short story […]

The 2019 Writivism Prizes Awarded to Nigeria’s Frances Ogamba & South Africa’s Resoketswe Manenzhe

writivism 2019 winners - graph

The winners of the 2019 Writivism Prizes have been announced: the Koffi Addo Creative Nonfiction Prize went to Nigeria’s Frances […]

Teju Cole Offers Thoughts on Controversy Over NYT’s Coverage of Trump & Racism, Shares New Spotify Playlist

teju cole sydney morning herald

Days ago on Facebook, Teju Cole made a post about the debate over how The New York Times covers and […]

Dinaw Mengestu’s Novel Picked by Barrack Obama for His Summer 2019 Reading List

dinaw mengestu - how to read the air - graph - joydelire.worpress.com

Former US president Barrack Obama has revealed his summer 2019 reading list, and among his selections is the Ethiopian writer […]

Poetry Chapbook Review | Ama Asantewa Diaka’s You Too Will Know Me | Nana Prempeh

Ama asantewa diaka - you too will know me - graph

Publisher: Akashic Books. As part of African Poetry Book Fund (APBF)’s New-Generation African Poets: A Chapbook Box Set (Sita), edited […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.