Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Image from Wole Talabi’s Twitter.

As part of its Harvester Series, a publication programme for collections of old and new stories plus bonus material, the Scotland-based indie press Luna Press Publishing released Wole Talabi’s debut short story collection Incomplete Solutions in June. In October, it will release Nick Wood’s Learning Monkey and Crocodile. Below are details of both books.

Incomplete Solutions by Wole Talabi

DESCRIPTION

From the bustling streets of Lagos to the icy moons of Jupiter, this debut collection of twenty stories from the vivid imagination of the award-winning Wole Talabi explores what it means to be human in a world of accelerating technology, diverse beliefs, and unlimited potential, from a uniquely Nigerian perspective. For fans of Tade Thompson and Nnedi Okorafor.

REVIEWS

Tade Thompson, Nommo Award-Winning author of Rosewater and The Murders of Molly Southbourne:

These are amazing narratives which show assiduous reflection on science, emotion, mysticism and philosophy. With such careful consideration, impeccable science and interesting characters, each story is prose that gently tickles the forebrain. Recommended.

Lauren Beukes, author of Zoo City and The Shining Girls:

Fierce and urgent – a remarkable new voice.

Geoff Ryman, Nebula Award-Winning author of The Child Garden, Was, and Air:

Wole Talabi mixes literary skill with speculative SF abilities to make him one of the spearheads of the African revolution in speculative writing.

Tendai Huchu, author of The Hairdresser of Harare and The Maestro, The Magistrate & The Mathematician:

A wonderfully eclectic showpiece of hard science fiction and fascinating speculation. The stories in this collection will blow your mind.

Wole Talabi. Photo source: unknown.

Wole Talabi is a full-time engineer, part-time writer and sometime editor from Nigeria. His stories have appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Omenana, Terraform, The Kalahari Review, the Imagine Africa 500 anthology, and a few other places. He edited the anthologies These Words Expose Us and Lights Out: Resurrection and co-wrote the play Color Me Man. His fiction has been nominated for several awards including the Caine Prize. He won a Nommo Award in 2018.

Book Release Date: 4 June 2019

Price: £9.99

Extent: 270 pages.

Learning Monkey and Crocodile by Nick Wood

DESCRIPTION

“Nick Wood’s short stories are powerful, impassioned visions of worlds and worldviews remade by way of redemptive engagement with the spirits of the earth and the earth of the spirit,” writes Nick Gevers. “Joining ancestral wisdom and transformative technologies, combining searing self-scrutiny with joyous awareness of the Other, Learning Monkey and Crocodile is a book for all of us.”

REVIEWS

Ursula K. Le Guin:

I read Bridges with much pleasure… Chilling and fascinating.

Strange Horizons:

Wood’s characterization is excellent.

Sarah Lotz on Azanian Bridges:

This is a gut-puncher of a novel; original, brilliantly written, and a page-turner of note.

Ian Watson on Azanian Bridges:

Politically acute and powerful, with its heart in the right place… in many ways a ‘textbook story’, because it’s so well done.

Nick Wood. Image from press.futurefire.net.

Nick Wood is a Zambian-born, South African-naturalised clinical psychologist, with over twenty short stories previously published in international venues, including AfroSF and AfroSF 2, amongst others. He has a YA speculative fiction book published in South
Africa entitled The Stone Chameleon, as well as a debut novel Azanian Bridges, which has been shortlisted for the Sidewise Award for alternative history, the Nommos Awards for African Speculative Fiction, the BSF Award, and the John W. Campbell Award.

Wood has completed Water Must Fall, a solar-punk thriller currently looking for a home. It is set in a near future in which drought devastates Southern Africa and California and new ways of living are sought in the struggle to survive the squeeze of both climate change and global capitalism.

Book Release Date: 18 October 2019

Price: £9.99

Extent: 218 pages.

To buy the books, or for more information on them, please visit Luna Press Publishing’s website.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Otosirieze Obi-Young

View all posts by Otosirieze Obi-Young
Otosirieze Obi-Young is a writer, journalist, & Deputy Editor of Brittle Paper. The recipient of the inaugural The Future Awards Prize for Literature in 2019, he is a judge for The Gerald Kraak Prize and was a judge for The Morland Writing Scholarship in 2019. He is Nonfiction Editor at 14, Nigeria’s first queer art collective, which has published volumes including We Are Flowers (2017) and The Inward Gaze (2018). He is Curator at The Art Naija Series, a sequence of e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness, including Enter Naija: The Book of Places (2016), which explores cities, and Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (2017), which explores professions. His work in queer equality advocacy in literature has been profiled in Literary Hub. His fiction has appeared in The Threepenny Review and Transition. He has completed a collection of short stories, You Sing of a Longing, is working on a novel, and is represented by David Godwin Associates literary agency. He has an M.A. in African Studies and a combined honours B.A. in History & International Studies/English & Literary Studies, both from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He taught English in a private Nigerian university. Find him at otosirieze.com, where he accepts writing and editing offers, or on Instagram or Twitter: @otosirieze. When bored, he Googles Rihanna.

2 Responses to “Luna Press’ Harvester Series Includes New Collections by Wole Talabi and Nick Wood” Subscribe

  1. Ivor July 23, 2019 at 9:24 am #

    Nick Wood, not Woods.

    • Otosirieze July 23, 2019 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks for the correction, Ivor. The error was in only the title. Rectified now.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."

Archives

Scholarship and Mentorship Opportunity with Ellah P. Wakatama OBE (Open to Black British Writers)

Scholarship and Mentorship Opportunity with Ellah P. Wakatama (1)

The Literary Consultancy (TLC) has launched a new scholarship aimed at providing “writers on low-income and/or from communities currently under-represented […]

Watch Joseph Adesunloye’s Documentary Film on The AKO Caine Prize

Caine Prize documentary film (2)

A few weeks ago, the AKO Caine Prize organizers announced that the award dinner held at the British Library will […]

Two African Writers Featured in Beyoncé’s Black Is King Visual Album

Yrsa Daley-Ward and Warsan Shire's Poetry Featured in Beyoncé's Black Is King Visual Album (1)

Beyoncé’s new visual album Black Is King is making waves, but the exciting part is that there are two African […]

Ethiopian Author Mihret Sibhat’s Signs Book Deal for Debut Novel The History of a Difficult Child

Ethiopian Author Mihret Sibhat's Signs Book Deal for Debut Novel The History of a Difficult Child

Ethiopian author Mihret Sibhat’s debut novel The History of a Difficult Child, about “a girl child contending with familial & […]

Idza Luhumyo Wins Inaugural Margaret Busby New Daughters of Africa Award

Luhumyo2

Idza Luhumyo was recently announced as the winner of the inaugural Margaret Busby New Daughters of Africa Award. The award […]

Video | Zimbabwean Novelist Tsitsi Dangarembga Released After Her Arrest on July 31

tsitsi dangaremgba released after arrest

Days after Zimbabwean novelist Tsitsi Dangarembga was longlisted for the Booker Prize, she was arrested while protesting. The arrest took […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.