Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Image from Wole Talabi’s Twitter.

As part of its Harvester Series, a publication programme for collections of old and new stories plus bonus material, the Scotland-based indie press Luna Press Publishing released Wole Talabi’s debut short story collection Incomplete Solutions in June. In October, it will release Nick Wood’s Learning Monkey and Crocodile. Below are details of both books.

Incomplete Solutions by Wole Talabi

DESCRIPTION

From the bustling streets of Lagos to the icy moons of Jupiter, this debut collection of twenty stories from the vivid imagination of the award-winning Wole Talabi explores what it means to be human in a world of accelerating technology, diverse beliefs, and unlimited potential, from a uniquely Nigerian perspective. For fans of Tade Thompson and Nnedi Okorafor.

REVIEWS

Tade Thompson, Nommo Award-Winning author of Rosewater and The Murders of Molly Southbourne:

These are amazing narratives which show assiduous reflection on science, emotion, mysticism and philosophy. With such careful consideration, impeccable science and interesting characters, each story is prose that gently tickles the forebrain. Recommended.

Lauren Beukes, author of Zoo City and The Shining Girls:

Fierce and urgent – a remarkable new voice.

Geoff Ryman, Nebula Award-Winning author of The Child Garden, Was, and Air:

Wole Talabi mixes literary skill with speculative SF abilities to make him one of the spearheads of the African revolution in speculative writing.

Tendai Huchu, author of The Hairdresser of Harare and The Maestro, The Magistrate & The Mathematician:

A wonderfully eclectic showpiece of hard science fiction and fascinating speculation. The stories in this collection will blow your mind.

Wole Talabi. Photo source: unknown.

Wole Talabi is a full-time engineer, part-time writer and sometime editor from Nigeria. His stories have appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Omenana, Terraform, The Kalahari Review, the Imagine Africa 500 anthology, and a few other places. He edited the anthologies These Words Expose Us and Lights Out: Resurrection and co-wrote the play Color Me Man. His fiction has been nominated for several awards including the Caine Prize. He won a Nommo Award in 2018.

Book Release Date: 4 June 2019

Price: £9.99

Extent: 270 pages.

Learning Monkey and Crocodile by Nick Wood

DESCRIPTION

“Nick Wood’s short stories are powerful, impassioned visions of worlds and worldviews remade by way of redemptive engagement with the spirits of the earth and the earth of the spirit,” writes Nick Gevers. “Joining ancestral wisdom and transformative technologies, combining searing self-scrutiny with joyous awareness of the Other, Learning Monkey and Crocodile is a book for all of us.”

REVIEWS

Ursula K. Le Guin:

I read Bridges with much pleasure… Chilling and fascinating.

Strange Horizons:

Wood’s characterization is excellent.

Sarah Lotz on Azanian Bridges:

This is a gut-puncher of a novel; original, brilliantly written, and a page-turner of note.

Ian Watson on Azanian Bridges:

Politically acute and powerful, with its heart in the right place… in many ways a ‘textbook story’, because it’s so well done.

Nick Wood. Image from press.futurefire.net.

Nick Wood is a Zambian-born, South African-naturalised clinical psychologist, with over twenty short stories previously published in international venues, including AfroSF and AfroSF 2, amongst others. He has a YA speculative fiction book published in South
Africa entitled The Stone Chameleon, as well as a debut novel Azanian Bridges, which has been shortlisted for the Sidewise Award for alternative history, the Nommos Awards for African Speculative Fiction, the BSF Award, and the John W. Campbell Award.

Wood has completed Water Must Fall, a solar-punk thriller currently looking for a home. It is set in a near future in which drought devastates Southern Africa and California and new ways of living are sought in the struggle to survive the squeeze of both climate change and global capitalism.

Book Release Date: 18 October 2019

Price: £9.99

Extent: 218 pages.

To buy the books, or for more information on them, please visit Luna Press Publishing’s website.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Otosirieze Obi-Young

View all posts by Otosirieze Obi-Young
Otosirieze Obi-Young is a writer, journalist, & Deputy Editor of Brittle Paper. He sits on the judging panels of The Miles Morland Writing Scholarships and of The Gerald Kraak Prize. He is Nonfiction Editor at 14, Nigeria’s first queer art collective, which has published volumes including We Are Flowers (2017) and The Inward Gaze (2018). He is Curator at The Art Naija Series, a sequence of e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness, including Enter Naija: The Book of Places (2016), which explores cities, and Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (2017), which explores professions. His work in queer equality advocacy in literature has been profiled in Literary Hub. His fiction has appeared in The Threepenny Review and Transition. He has completed a collection of short stories, You Sing of a Longing, is working on a novel, and is represented by David Godwin Associates literary agency. He has an M.A. in African Studies and a combined honours B.A. in History & International Studies/English & Literary Studies, both from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He taught English in a private Nigerian university. He is currently nominated for the inaugural The Future Awards Prize for Literature. Find him at otosirieze.com, where he accepts writing and editing offers, or on Instagram or Twitter: @otosirieze. When bored, he Googles Rihanna.

2 Responses to “Luna Press’ Harvester Series Includes New Collections by Wole Talabi and Nick Wood” Subscribe

  1. Ivor July 23, 2019 at 9:24 am #

    Nick Wood, not Woods.

    • Otosirieze July 23, 2019 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks for the correction, Ivor. The error was in only the title. Rectified now.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."

Archives

The 2019 Brittle Paper Awards: Announcing The 5 Shortlists

BP shortlist

We are excited to announce The 5 Shortlists for the 2019 Brittle Paper Awards. Launched in 2017 to mark our seventh anniversary, the […]

“Read Salone, Build Salone”: The First Sierra Leone National Book Fair | 5-7 Dec.

SLNBF

Between December 5 to December 7, Freetown, Sierra Leone, will play host to the Sierra Leone National Book Fair—the first […]

Is There a Quota of 5 Books by African Authors for Every “Best 100 Books of 2019” List?

best of best of best of

As yet another year draws to a close, literary lists of various sorts are once again filling our newsfeeds. During […]

Laila Lalami’s The Other Americans Longlisted for the 2020 Aspen Words Literary Prize

Lalami_Laila-1

Moroccan-American novelist Laila Lalami’s The Other Americans has recently been longlisted for the 2020 Aspen Words Literary Prize. Described on the Aspen Prize’s […]

Apply for SBMEN’s Workshop “Literary Criticism: Judging Dynamic Creative Writing in All Forms”| 23 November

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 8.57.48 PM

The Society for Book and Magazine Editors of Nigeria (SBMEN) is calling for applications to its fourth (and last) editing […]

They Say There are Over 50 Translations of Things Fall Apart. Here are 61.

Achebe Translation Cover

How many times have you heard or read that Things Fall Apart has been translated into over 50 languages? And yet, […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.