Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Jude Idada with his NLNG Prize cheque.

The Nigerian writer and filmmaker Jude Idada has been awarded the 2019 Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Prize for Literature, for his third children’s book Boom Boom, a novel that explores sickle cell disease. On the shortlist were Dunni Olatunde’s Mysteries at Ebenezer’s Lodge and O.T. Begho’s The Great Walls of Benin. The longlist of eleven included, among others, Commonwealth Prize-winning author Adoabi Tricia Nwaubani, for her debut children’s book Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree, and ten-year old Anisa Daniel-Oniko, for her book Double ‘A’ for Adventure. Idada had previously been shortlisted in 2014 for his play Oduduwa, King of the Edos.

At $100,000 (₦36 million), the NLNG Prize is Africa’s richest. Currently in its fifteenth year, it honours a published book, rotating annually among four genres: poetry, prose fiction, drama, and children’s literature. This year is for children’s literature.

The Prize’s 2019 judges were: Asabe Usman Kabir, professor of oral and African literatures at Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto; Patrick Oloko, senior lecturer in African postcolonial literature, gender and cultural studies at the University of Lagos; and the chair, Obodimma Oha, professor of cultural semiotics and stylistics at the University of Ibadan.

Reacting to his win, the author took to Facebook to express his delight. He dedicated his win to Sickle Cell Survivors and their allies, his editors, publisher, family, friends and readers.

Also awarded at the event were Professor Meihong Wang and Dr. Mathew Aneke as joint-winners of the NLNG Nigeria Prize for Science. They won for their work on carbon capture and utilization and biomass gasification and energy storage for power generation.

Previous winners of the NLNG Prize for Literature include Ezenwa Ohaeto and Gabriel Okara for poetry in 2005, Ahmed Yerima for drama in 2006, Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo and Mabel Segun for children’s literature in 2007, Kaine Agary for prose fiction in 2008, Adeleke Adeyemi for children’s literature in 2011, Chika Unigwe for prose fiction in 2012, Tade Ipadeola for poetry in 2013, Sam Ukala for drama in 2014, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim for prose fiction in 2016, Ikeogu Oke for poetry in 2017, and Soji Cole for drama in 2018.

Congratulations to Jude Idada.

Tags: , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Alain Mabanckou’s New Book, a Collection of his Lectures Delivered at the Collège de France, to be Published January 2020


Congolese author Alain Mabanckou, possibly the most prominent name in Francophone African literature and renowned for his experimental writing, has […]

The 2019 Brittle Paper Awards: Announcing The 5 Shortlists

BP shortlist

We are excited to announce The 5 Shortlists for the 2019 Brittle Paper Awards. Launched in 2017 to mark our seventh anniversary, the […]

“Read Salone, Build Salone”: The First Sierra Leone National Book Fair | 5-7 Dec.


Between December 5 to December 7, Freetown, Sierra Leone, will play host to the Sierra Leone National Book Fair—the first […]

Is There a Quota of 5 Books by African Authors for Every “Best 100 Books of 2019” List?

best of best of best of

As yet another year draws to a close, literary lists of various sorts are once again filling our newsfeeds. During […]

Laila Lalami’s The Other Americans Longlisted for the 2020 Aspen Words Literary Prize


Moroccan-American novelist Laila Lalami’s The Other Americans has recently been longlisted for the 2020 Aspen Words Literary Prize. Described on the Aspen Prize’s […]

Apply for SBMEN’s Workshop “Literary Criticism: Judging Dynamic Creative Writing in All Forms”| 23 November

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 8.57.48 PM

The Society for Book and Magazine Editors of Nigeria (SBMEN) is calling for applications to its fourth (and last) editing […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.