Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

By Victor Ehikhamenor

Nigerian writer Pemi Aguda has been announced winner of the 2020 Deborah Rogers Foundation Award.

Aguda, who was a finalist for the Brittle Paper Award for Fiction in 2019, won the award for her novel The Suicide Mothers, which is reportedly set in Lagos and is described as “utterly contemporary yet has room for the mythic and the supernatural.”

Aguda will receive the cash prize of £10,000.

The 2020 longlist was selected by agents within the agency from 876 entries. Aguda’s The Suicide Mothers emerged winner out of the 3 stories that made it to the shortlist.

Ian Rankin OBE chaired the judging panel, which included Sarah Perry and Max Porter.

Speaking of the initial longlist of 8 stories, Rankin said that “all eight had their strengths” and displayed “unique and powerful authorial voices from many corners of the globe.” But only Aguda’s manuscript made it to the very top.

“Our winner, THE SUICIDE MOTHERS,” writes Perry, “is a tremendously gripping novel which I’m sure will reach a wide audience.”

Aguda is currently holding a fellowship at the University of Michigan where she received her MFA. Her work has appeared in GrantaAmerican Short Fiction and Zoetrope: All-Story, among others.

The Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award is presented by American literary agency Rogers Coleridge & White.

Congratulations to Pemi Aguda!


Tags: ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Kwame Dawes’s “Yard Boy”: A Powerful Poem for Our Moment


Kwame Dawes recently wrote a poem titled “Yard Boy” that speaks to the recent events surrounding the death of George […]

Teju Cole’s Spotify Playlists Offer Musical Solace for These Times


Among Teju Cole’s many talents is his ability to curate music that captures a mood or even the feel of […]

Petina Gappah to Write Play About the Censorship History of Dambudzo Marechera’s Novel Black Sunlight

Untitled design

Petina Gappah recently announced that she was writing a play that focuses on “the 1982 banning and unbanning” of Dambudzo […]

Oh, Blessed Bri’Land | Jedah Mayberry | Fiction

fiction brittle paper Jedah Mayberry

Bri’Land glistened at me, her brilliant display of pink sand shimmering in delight.  It would seem that I had finally, […]

Books That Go with Wine and Books That Don’t

literary lifestyle wine and books

The beverages most associated with reading are tea and coffee. But many readers love to cozy up in bed with […]

In This House | Inok Rosemary | Poetry

poetry brittle paper inok rosemary

  In this house, we sift our words, Never letting the walls hear what they shouldn’t. The fear of their […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.