It’s Chinua Achebe’s birthday today! We’ve been leading up over the past week to today with a series of Instagram posts about Achebe’s life and works, but to mark the occasion itself, we’re auctioning an AUTOGRAPHED first edition of Things Fall Apart!

This is the first US edition of the book published in 1959 by Astor-Honor, Inc. Trust us, this is SUPER RARE.**

The auction will start at 11am CST/ 5pm GMT/ 6pm WAT at a starting price of USD 2750.

Check out the images below and don’t miss this phenomenal chance to get your hands on a copy of this book that changed the way the world understood African literature!

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

**For those interested in the history of the book: there’s another first US edition published by Obolensky. FYI, Things Fall Apart was initially published with McDowell, Obolensky, but when McDowell left the firm, the publishing house became known as Astor-Honor, Inc.