Awele Creative Trust Award is currently accepting entities for its 2020 short story prize. Founded and administered by Award-winning Nigerian author Chika Unigwe, the annual prize confers a cash reward of N50,000 to an unpublished short story between 2,500 and 5,000 words, to a Nigerian writer aged 16-26. Previous winners include Caleb Adebayo for 2014, Nneoma Ike Njoku for 2015, Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke and Anthony Ezekwoh for 2016, Imade Iyamu for 2017, and Bakporhe Ufuomaoghene for 2019.

Submission Guidelines

  • Only one story per author will be considered
  • Submissions must be previously unpublished.
  • Only fictional work is eligible
  • Works must be between 2,500 and 5,000 words
  • Submissions should be sent as an attachment and should include a cover note with the name, date of birth, e-mail address and telephone number of the author
  • Submissions should be made by e-mail only to [email protected]
  • Works translated into English from any Nigerian languages are eligible. Should such a work win, N20,000 of the prize money will go to the translator.

Entries will be accepted from November 25 until December 31

For more information/enquirers, email [email protected].