Fans of Temi Oh, Suyi Davies Okungbowa, and Black Panther! You’ll be thrilled to learn that these two authors are contributors to the forthcoming anthology Black Panther: Tales of Wakanda.

Oh and Okungbowa are among the eighteen contributors of the anthology, all authors from across the African diaspora. The anthology’s stories revolve around several characters from the Black Panther series. Here’s a summary of the book from its publisher, Titan Books:

T’Challa faces the gods of his parents. Vampires stalk Shuri and a Dora Milaje in voodoo-laced New Orleans. Erik Killmonger grapples with racism, Russian spies, and his own origins. Eighteen brand-new tales of Wakanda, its people, and its legacy.

The first mainstream superhero of African descent, the Black Panther has attracted readers of all races and colors who see in the King of Wakanda reflections of themselves. Storytellers from across the African Diaspora–some already literary legends, others who are rising stars–have created for this collection original works inspired by the world of the Panther and its inhabitants. With guest stars including Storm, Monica Rambeau, Namor, and Jericho Drumm, these are stories of yesterday and today, of science and magic, of faith and love.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

These are the tales of a king and his country. These are the legends whispered in the jungle, myths of the unconquered men and women and the land they love.

These are the Tales of Wakanda.

Featuring stories by Linda D. Addison, Maurice Broaddus, Christopher Chambers, Milton J. Davis, Tananarive Due, Nikki Giovanni, Harlan James, Danian Jerry, Kyoko M., L.L. McKinney, Temi Oh, Suyi Davies Okungbowa, Glenn Parris, Alex Simmons, Sheree Renée Thomas, Cadwell Turnbull and Troy L. Wiggins.

The anthology is edited by Jesse J. Holland, author of Black Panther: Who Is the Black Panther?

Both Okungbowa and Oh expressed their excitement on Instagram.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Suyi Davies Okungbowa (@suyidavies)

 

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW
View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Temi Oh (@theonly_temioh)

Preorder the book at major retailers online or at your local bookstore. We can’t wait to get our hands on a copy!