Twenty-three writers from ten African countries have been shortlisted for the 2021 Morland Scholarship for African Writing.

In its eighth year, the scholarship, named after its benefactor Miles Morland, awards a monetary grant of £18,000 to two or three writers over the course of twelve months and a nonfiction grant of £27,000 to a single writer over the course of eighteen months to enable them work on a proposed book. Selected scholars are required, at the end of each month, to submit 10,000 new words written over the course of the month, for up to 80,000 words. Upon publication of the book, scholars are also required, as a “debt of honor” to donate to the foundation 20% of what they receive from the book, including, but not limited, to film rights etc.

The 2021 shortlist were selected from over 572 submissions. The shortlist is led by Nigeria with 9, followed by South Africa with 4, Zambia and Botswana with 2 each, and Kenya, Ghana, Namibia, Somalia, Uganda and Zimbabwe with one each.

The judging panel, chaired by Muthoni Garland include the publisher Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and writer Chuma Nwokolo. The judges will convene on 23rd November to select the 2021 Scholars. Their names will be announced soon afterwards.

See the full shortlist below:

  • Ope Adedeji (Nigeria)
  • Caleb Ajinomoh (Nigeria)
  • Olakitan Aladesuyi (Nigeria)
  • Ivana Amy Akotowaa Ofori (Ghana)
  • Alithnayn Abdulkareem (Nigeria)
  • Harriet Anena (Uganda)
  • Asiya Gaildon (Somalia)
  • Alice Gichuru (Kenya)
  • Tamantha Hammerschlag (South Africa)
  • Ilze Hugo (South Africa)
  • Abubakar Ibrahim (Nigeria)
  • Anietie Isong (Nigeria)
  • Mubanga Kalimamukwento (Zambia)
  • Bwanga Kapumpa (Zambia)
  • Refilwe Mathapelo Mofokeng (South Africa)
  • Gothataone Moeng (Botswana)
  • Helen Moffett (South Africa)
  • Tinashe Mushakavanhu (Botswana)
  • Rémy Ngamije (Namibia)
  • Sukoluhle Nyathi (Zimbabawe)
  • Edwin Okolo (Nigeria)
  • Lekan Olanrewaju (Nigeria)
  • Ife Olatona (Nigeria)

Congratulations to the authors!