The Miles Morland Foundation is currently accepting applications for the 2022 Morland African Writing Scholarships.

The awards offer a fiction scholarship of £18,000 to up to four writers, paid over the course of twelve months, and a nonfiction scholarship of £27,000 to a single writer, paid over the course of eighteen months to enable them take time off to work on a proposed work.

Entries must be book proposals for only fiction and creative nonfiction, which must not be less than 80,000 words when completed.

Scholarship recipients are compulsorily required to submit 10,000 new words every month. Scholars are also required, as a ‘debt of honor rather than a legally binding obligation’ to donate to the foundation 20% of revenues (film rights, serializations etc) gotten from the book written during the duration of their scholarship. The funds will be channeled into supporting other young writers.

Applications open 1 July through 19 September 2022.

The 2022 judging panel is comprised of Kenyan author Muthoni Garland (chair); Nigerian publisher Bibi Bakare-Yusuf; and Nigerian novelist Chuma Nwokolo.

Submission Guidelines:

  1. A submission of between 2,000 to 5,000 words as a Word document of work that has been published and offered for sale.
  2. A description of between 400 – 1,000 words about the new book you intend to write.
  3. A scan of an official document showing that you, or both of your parents, were born in Africa.
  4. A brief bio of between 200-300 words.

For the full guidelines, go here.

Previous winners of the Miles Morland Scholarships include: Tony Mochama, Doreen Baingana, and Percy Zvomuya in 2013; Yewande Omotoso, Simone Hayson, Ndinda Kioko, and Ahmed Khalifa in 2014; Fatin Abbas, Akwaeke Emezi, and Bolaji Ofin in 2015; Abdul Adan, Lidudumalingani Mqobothi, Ayesha Haruna Attah and Nneoma Ike-Njokuin 2016; and Eloghosa Osunde, Fatima Kola, Elnathan John, Bryony Rheam, and Alemseged Tesfai in 2017; Edwige Dro, Kola Tubosun, Sibabalwe Masinyana and Siphiwe Ndlovuin 2018; Gloria Mwaniga Odari, Parselelo Kantai, Hawa Jande Golakai and Nnamdi Oguike in 2019; Howard Meh-Buh, Kobina Ankomah Graham, Okwiri Oduor, and Sarah Uheida in 2020; and Ope Adedeji, Asiya Gaildon, Refilwe Mofokeng, and Tinashe Mushakanvanhu in 2021.