The African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) has announced the winning titles across categories for the 2022 Nommo Awards. We’ve put together this list to celebrate the winning books and runners-up.

The winners are Nnedi Okorafor, Pemi Aguda, Tendai Huchu, and Roye Okupe & Godwin Akpan. The winners were revealed at the just concluded World Science Fiction Convention, also known as Chicon 8, held in Chicago, United States.

Tendai Huchu was received the award in the novel category (1000 USD) for his novel The Library of the Dead. Nnedi Okorafor took home the Novella prize (500 USD) for Remote Control. The prize for graphic novel (1000 USD) went to Roye Okupe (creator/writer) and Godwin Akpan (illustrator) for Iyanu: Child of Wonder Vol 2. Pemi Aguda was awarded the short story prize (500 USD) for “Masquerade Season.” We have included the winners and some of the finalists in the book list down below, for African speculative fiction fans who may want to check out these titles.

Congratulations to the winners and finalists! Go here to read more about them.