The shortlist for the 2023 Miles Morland Writing Scholarships is out. This year, 19 shortlisted writers were selected out of 600 entries from published writers from across Africa. Nigeria dominates the shortlist with 10 authors.

Based in London, the Miles Morland Foundation (MMF) is a UK registered charity founded in 2013 which aims to support Africans in their aim to their voices better heard. It is particularly interested in supporting African literature and runs a yearly African writing scholarship, which aims to give writers of both fiction and non-fiction the financial freedom to complete an English-language book.

Fiction writers receive a grant of £18,000 over 12 months, while non-fiction writers who might require additional research time could receive an additional grant for an 18-month period.

According to the Foundation, this year’s shortlist is an eclectic and intriguing collection with both fiction and non-fiction books in the mix. The shortlist of 19 was selected based on the combined scores of two readers, grading on the criterion of literary merit.

Here is the 2023 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship shortlist. You might see some familiar names below:

  • Deborah Adeniyi (Nigeria)
  • Rafeeat Aliyu (Nigeria)
  • Jekwu Anyaegbuna (Nigeria)
  • Justin Clement (Nigeria)
  • Mary-Alice Daniel (Nigeria)
  • Eromo Egbejule (Nigeria)
  • Mubanga Kalimamukwento (Zambia)
  • Ayesha Kassiem (South Africa)
  • Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya)
  • Wesley Macheso (Malawi)
  • Priya Nirmala Hein (Mauritius)
  • Remy Ngamije (Rwanda/Namibia)
  • Lindiwe Nkutha (South Africa)
  • Masande Ntshanga (South Africa)
  • Tolu Ogunlesi (Nigeria)
  • Kanyinsola Olorunnisola (Nigeria)
  • Temitope Owolabi (Nigeria)
  • Joe Ruzvidzo (Zimbabwe)
  • Obinna Udenwe (Nigeria)

The judges will select four winners from the shortlist. They will also consider book proposals when making their decison. The winners will be announced on November 17.

Congrats to the shortlisted writers!