It is time to submit nominations for the 2024 Nommo Awards, celebrating speculative fiction and fantasy works published by African writers in 2022-2023. To nominate your favorite writers, you need to be an African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) member.

The African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) is a membership organisation of African writers, editors, comic and graphic artists, and filmmakers in the in the fields of speculative fiction such as fantasy, science fiction, stories that draw on traditions, horror and philosophical fiction. The ASFS is home of the Nommo Awards held annually since 2017 with the exception of 2023.

Become a member of the ASFS here. As an ASFS member, you have the chance to nominate African works across four categories:

  • Novel: Stories of 40,000 words or longer
  • Novella: Stories of between 17,500 and 40,000 words
  • Short Story: Stories of between 1 and 17,500 words
  • Graphic Novel: Stories that consist of both images and words of any length.

Nomination Guidelines:

  • Only works published between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2023 are eligible.
  • The nomination period runs from 13 March 2024 – 30 April 2024
  • This is a speculative fiction award. All nominations must be fiction and have magic, science fiction, or some other fantasy element. Stories without a speculative element are not eligible. Short story collections are not eligible in any category – pick the best story and nominate it. Memoirs, self help books, religious texts, histories or biographies are not eligible.
  • The administration team reserves the right to disqualify any nominations that are incorrectly completed or if they are unable to qualify nominations.
  • The author of the work does NOT have to be a Member of the ASFS.
  • Members cannot nominate their own works.
  • You are NOT required to nominate in all 4 categories nor do you need to nominate 5 pieces of work, i.e. a minimum of 1 nominated piece in total.
  • Please compile your list of nominations and submit together (once only). Once you have completed the form and submitted, a nomination cannot be changed.

Read the entirety of the eligibility and rules here.

If you are an ASFS member, submit your nominations here.

Deadline: April 30, 2024

The five works with the greatest number of nominations in each category will be the shortlist for that category. Voting for the winner open from May 15 and lasts till June 30. ASFS members will receive an email with instructions once the vote is open.

The work that receives the highest number of votes in each category will win the Nommo Awards. Only ASFS members have the right to vote for winners on the shortlist.

Nominate your favorite African speculative fiction writers now!