Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."


Ethiopian-American author Maaza Mengiste is one of eight writers to receive the 2020 Arts and Letters Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Each year, the Academy awards “literature prizes, totaling $350,000, to honor both established and emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry.”

Mengiste was recognized alongside Viet Thanh Nguyen, Megan McDowell, Sandra Lim, Wayne Koestenbaum, Jeremy O. Harris, Joel Harrington, and Marie Arana for “exceptional accomplishment in any genre.”

On her Twitter page last week, Mengiste expressed her joy at being honored and “a heartfelt congrats to the other writers.”

Maaza Mengiste arrived on the literary scene in 2010 with her debut novel, Beneath the Lion’s Gaze, identified by The Guardian as one of the “10 Best Contemporary African Books” in 2012. Since then, she has become celebrated for her representation of human stories in the face of war, exile, and migration.

Mengiste’s most recent novel, The Shadow King, was listed on TIME Magazine’s 100 Must-Read Books of 2019 and a Finalist for the 2019 Los Angeles Times Book Prize in Fiction.

The rights have since been acquired by Atlas Entertainment for film adaptation. Mengiste is also the editor of the forthcoming collection, Addis Ababa Noir, featured in Brittle Paper last August and scheduled to release in August 2020.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Kwame Dawes’s “Yard Boy”: A Powerful Poem for Our Moment


Kwame Dawes recently wrote a poem titled “Yard Boy” that speaks to the recent events surrounding the death of George […]

Teju Cole’s Spotify Playlists Offer Musical Solace for These Times


Among Teju Cole’s many talents is his ability to curate music that captures a mood or even the feel of […]

Petina Gappah to Write Play About the Censorship History of Dambudzo Marechera’s Novel Black Sunlight

Untitled design

Petina Gappah recently announced that she was writing a play that focuses on “the 1982 banning and unbanning” of Dambudzo […]

Oh, Blessed Bri’Land | Jedah Mayberry | Fiction

fiction brittle paper Jedah Mayberry

Bri’Land glistened at me, her brilliant display of pink sand shimmering in delight.  It would seem that I had finally, […]

Books That Go with Wine and Books That Don’t

literary lifestyle wine and books

The beverages most associated with reading are tea and coffee. But many readers love to cozy up in bed with […]

In This House | Inok Rosemary | Poetry

poetry brittle paper inok rosemary

  In this house, we sift our words, Never letting the walls hear what they shouldn’t. The fear of their […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.