Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Acclaimed Egypatian author and professor Reem Bassiouney has been awarded the 2019/2020 Naguib Mahfouz Award for the Best Egyptian Novel of the Year for her seventh novel Sons of the People: The Mamluk Triology. 

Released in 2018, the novel “aims to approach history with a deeper outlook on the human experience of the Mamluks in Egypt, who originally came as owned slaves and then later ruled Egypt for around 267 years.”

Bassiouney says: “I want readers to understand history, and to think in a different way about historical and social issues, and how they judge and perceive others. I also want them to think deeply about the human experience, and to think from all different perspectives, and this is mainly what I want for all my novels.”

Egyptian Street reports that the award announcement was made by Egypt’s Supreme Council of Culture, under the patronage of the Ministry of Culture. The award for Best Arabic Novel went to Mauritanian writer Mohamed Fadel Ibrahim for his novel The Book of Apostasy. 

The Naguib Mahfouz Award is named after Egypatian writer and Nobel laureate Naguib Mahfouz. It is different from the similarly named Naguib Mahfouz Medal for Literature which is annually presented by the American University in Cairo Press. The Naguib Mahfouz Award was revived in 2017 after a nearly 20-year long hiatus. Bassiouney is the first woman novelist to receive the award.

Born in Alexandria in 1973, Reem Bassiouney studied English Literature at Alexandria University and obtained a doctorate from Oxford University. She is currently professor of sociolinguistics at The American University in Cairo and has written many novels and academic texts including Professor Hanaa which won the 2009 Sawiris Foundation Literary Prize for Young Writers.

Brittle Paper congratulates Reem Bassiouney.


Tags: , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Kwame Dawes’s “Yard Boy”: A Powerful Poem for Our Moment


Kwame Dawes recently wrote a poem titled “Yard Boy” that speaks to the recent events surrounding the death of George […]

Teju Cole’s Spotify Playlists Offer Musical Solace for These Times


Among Teju Cole’s many talents is his ability to curate music that captures a mood or even the feel of […]

Petina Gappah to Write Play About the Censorship History of Dambudzo Marechera’s Novel Black Sunlight

Untitled design

Petina Gappah recently announced that she was writing a play that focuses on “the 1982 banning and unbanning” of Dambudzo […]

Oh, Blessed Bri’Land | Jedah Mayberry | Fiction

fiction brittle paper Jedah Mayberry

Bri’Land glistened at me, her brilliant display of pink sand shimmering in delight.  It would seem that I had finally, […]

Books That Go with Wine and Books That Don’t

literary lifestyle wine and books

The beverages most associated with reading are tea and coffee. But many readers love to cozy up in bed with […]

In This House | Inok Rosemary | Poetry

poetry brittle paper inok rosemary

  In this house, we sift our words, Never letting the walls hear what they shouldn’t. The fear of their […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.