The 2020 Locus Awards shortlists have been announced, and four African writers have books nominated in various categories.

Akwaeke Emezi’s Pet and Tochi Onyebuchi’s War Girls are nominated in the Young Adult Novel category. Tade Thompson’s The Rosewater Insurrection/The Rosewater Redemption is nominated in Science Fiction Novel. Nnedi Okorafor for Binti: Sacred Fire in the Novelette category and Broken Places & Outer Spaces in Non-fiction.

Recently, Nnedi Okorafor’s collaborative graphic novel LaGuardia picked up an Eisner Award nomination for Best Graphic Album, alongside Tana Ford.

Founded in 1971, the Locus Awards is conferred by the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. The 2020 awards is spread across 16 categories. Winners will be determined by polling magazine readers.

On June 27, 2020, the winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend and handed certificates.

Brittle Paper congratulates Nnedi Okorafor, Tochi Onyebuchi, Tade Thompson and Akwaeke Emezi.

The nominated authors are thrilled by the good news. See their reactions on twitter: