Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Petina Gappah’s Out of Darkness, Shining Light is the winner of the 2020 Chautauqua Prize.

The Chautauqua Prize has been awarded each year since 2012 to “a book of fiction or literary/narrative nonfiction that provides a richly rewarding reading experience and honors the author for a significant contribution to the literary arts.”

The Chautauqua Institution is an educational center in New York, historically known for supporting the arts and providing flexible educational opportunities to women, low-income students, and students living in remote rural areas.

Gappah will receive a prize of $7,500 and give a public reading at the Chautauqua Institution’s Online Assembly. The event will be announced at a later date this summer.

She was thrilled to hear the news, which she shared on Twitter.

The Chautauqua Institution’s President Michael E. Hill has this to say about Out of Darkness, Shining Light:

Deeply informed and richly written, Out of Darkness, Shining Light completely reorients our understanding of one of the most lasting myths of Western culture. Comical one moment, and sobering the next, Petina’s writing is illustrative and instructive, and the cadences and voices she gives her characters are distinct and compelling — truly indicative of a masterful writer. We’re honored to award her The Chautauqua Prize, and to celebrate this book that pulls its story out of the darkness of history and shines a light on the many voices of our shared humanity.

Out of Darkness, Shining Light is a historical fiction. The novel details the 285-day journey during which a fellowship of interesting characters carry Dr. David Livingstone’s dead body to the Indian Ocean coast.

The novel was also a finalist for the 2020 NAACP Image Awards, one of NPR’s Favorite Books of 2019, and made the list of Kirkus Review’s Best Historical Fiction of 2019.

Congratulations to Petina Gappah!

Tags: , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


“I Have Come Undone” | Adichie Writes Moving Statement on Grieving for Her Father

chimamanda Adichie tribute father james nwoye adichie

Chimamanda Adichie’s father, Professor James Nwoye Adichie, died on Wednesday June 10, 2020. Today, the author breaks her silence around […]

Submit to Ouida Books’ New Imprint on Technology in Africa

Ouida Books is Currently Accepting Submissions for Her New Imprint LWM (2)

Lagos-based publishing press Ouida Books is accepting submissions for its new imprint LWM. LMW is the third addition to the […]

Wayétu Moore Announces New Novel Exploring Mami Wata Mythology

Wayétu Moore Announces New Novel Exploring Mami Wata Mythology

Liberian-American author Wayétu Moore is staying busy and productive. Barely a year since the release of her widely praised memoir […]

Tsitsi Dangarembga Petitions Parliament of Zimbabwe for Removal of Health Minister Obadiah Moyo

Tsitsi Dangarembga Obadiah Moyo (1)

On June 19, 2020, Zimbabwe Health Minister Obadiah Moyo was arrested on corruption charges for engaging in an illegal 60 […]

Is This Us? The Many Holes in Nigerian-American Portrayal of the Nigerian Experience | Damilola Oyedele | Essay

Yvonne Orji Nigerian Americans about Nigeria

A few weeks ago, as I watched Yvonne Orji explain Nigerian slang to her audience, feelings I couldn’t immediately name […]

The Meaning of Guernica | Umar Abubakar Sidi | Poetry

Guernica Umar Abubakar Sidi poetry (1)

  Guernica Celebration of modern fascism Horrific devastation in the Basque town of Guernica Monochrome grisaille Crawling analysis of the […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.