The Central Working Committee of the Future Festival Africa have announced the call for nominations for 2021 edition of the Nigeria Prize for Difference and Diversity.

In its second year, the prize seeks to “find and support young Nigerians who are creating safe spaces for people across key areas, which include; gender, special needs, sexuality, faith and spirituality and mental and emotional health.”

The 2021 prize is themed ‘Everyone Matters,’ in line with the prize’s mission to celebrate inclusivity.

You can now nominate someone you think is doing important work advancing inclusivity and creating a safe space for minorities in any part of the country. Ten finalists will be selected to attend a workshop in June, where they will be coached and mentored by a faculty of thought leaders in the field of gender, human rights and special needs. This will be closely followed by the announcement of the winner of the grant prize of N1 Million awarded by Chude Jideonwo and presented by and Joy, Inc.

The members of the panel of judges for this year’s prize will include lawyer and activist – Azeenarh Mohammed; award-winning actors –Eku Edewor and Nse Etim Ikpe; consultant psychiatrist – Dr Gbonjubola Abiri; decorated journalists Kiki Mordi and Harry Itie; fashion designer – Adebayo Oke-Lawal; CNN African Voices’ host – Arit Okpo; and consultant – Ndukwe Igbokwe.

Commenting on the announcement, Acting COO Joy, Inc., Damola Morenikeji, said,

people advocating for social change across Nigeria are constantly faced with the challenge of sourcing for financial aid to help them do more for their communities. This is why the Nigeria Prize for Difference and Diversity is sponsoring one young person who has influenced several lives and has been on a journey of championing policies on diversity and inclusion.”

“Nominations are open to the public to put forward their diversity heroes from now till April. It is our goal that through our collective encouragement for those leading the conversation on diversity and inclusion, light shines on forgotten matters and we are launched into a more inclusive and progressive society”, he concluded.

The inaugural prize was won by Oluwatobiloba Ajayi for her advocacy for children living with cerebral palsy.

Go here to nominate.