James Currey and Onyeka Nwelue

The James Currey Prize for African literature has announced the long list for its inaugural edition. The award, which is administered by World Arts Agency founder Onyeka Nwelue and named in honor of African literature enthusiast and publisher James Currey, rewards “the best unpublished work of fiction written in English by any writer, set in Africa or on Africans in Africa or in Diaspora.”

The long list was selected from dozens of submissions and contains writers from different parts of the continent. It will be distributed amongst jurors to determine the final 5, which will be announced on 1st July 2021

Chaired by Sarah Inya Lawal, The 2021 jury included Canada-based Nigerian publisher, Bibi Ukonu; Dr. Pinkie Megkwe (Botswana), Barbara Adair (South Africa), Kennedy Ekezie-Joseph (Nigeria), Arun Jay (India) and Miko Yamanouchi (Japan).

See the full long list below:

  • Walking in Honey, by Noella Moshi
  • Therapy Sessions, by Onyekachi Peter Onuoha
  • The Devil’s Daughter, by Khumbo Mhone
  •  And Then He Sang A Lullaby, by Ani Kayode Somtochukwu
  • They Like Us Dead, by Adio-Adet Dinika
  • Bones and Runes, by Stephen Embleton
  • The Rage of Lambs, by Solomon Kobina  Aremu
  • The Masses on Ashes, by Okwudiri Job
  • Pebbles Picked on the Beach, by Moraa Gitaa
  • A Reign of Terror by Ntando Gerald

Winner will be announced on 3rd September 2021, which is James Currey’s birthday at an event in Oxford, United Kingdom.

Congratulations to the authors.