Submissions are now open for the 2023 Aidoo-Snyder Scholarly Book Prize. If you are a female author with a scholarly book published in the past two years that focuses on women’s experiences, make sure to apply before the July 1 deadline.

The Aidoo-Snyder book prize is awarded by the Women’s Caucus of the African Studies Association (ASA) for an outstanding book that prioritizes African women’s experiences. The prize is named in honor of Ama Ata Aidoo, the celebrated Ghanaian novelist and short-story writer who recently passed away, and Margaret Snyder, the founding director of UNIFEM (United Nations Development Fund for Women).

Carrying a cash reward of $500, the prize seeks to acknowledge the excellence of contemporary scholarship being produced by women about African women. The 2022 winner was Fabienne Kanor’s for Humus (2020).

Submission Guidelines:

  • Work must be written by a woman (or women) prioritizing African women’s experiences.
  • Nominations can be from publishers or authors.
  • Self-published books are not eligible.
  • Entries may only be submitted for consideration once.
  • The prize is open to authors who have published books in English and English translation in the two years preceding the award year.
  • The book must significantly deal with Africa (including Cape Verde, and the Islands off the West Coast of Africa; Madagascar; and the Indian Ocean Islands off the East African Coast).
  • All award recipients are required to be current Women’s Caucus members, verified in MyASA.

The judges for this year include Dr. Rhiannon Stephens, Dr. Kemi Balogun, and Dr. Aisha Fofana Ibrahim. The winner will be notified in mid-September, and included in the African Studies Association Conference.

Deadline: July 1, 2023

Download the application form here – Application 2023. Email the completed form to [email protected] with the subject heading “Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize Application.”

Go here for more information about submission.