3 African authors have been featured in Jordan Peele’s groundbreaking Black horror anthology titled Out There Screaming. Releasing on October 3 through Random House, the book includes stories by Nigerian-American authors Nnedi Okorafor, Tochi Onyebuchi, and Lesley Nneka Arimah.

The anthology is edited by Jordan Peele and John Joseph Adams. Peele is the famous writer and director of brilliant horror films like Get Out, Us, and Nope, and founder of Monkeypaw Productions. Adams is the series editor of Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy, editor of more than 40 anthologies, and editor and publisher of the Hugo Award-winning magazine Lightspeed.

This groundbreaking anthology consists of stories of Black horror, exploring the terrors of the supernatural along with the chilling reality of injustice that haunts the American nation. Read the publisher’s synopsis below:

A cop begins seeing huge, blinking eyes where the headlights of cars should be that tell him who to pull over. Two freedom riders take a bus ride that leaves them stranded on a lonely road in Alabama where several unsettling somethings await them. A young girl dives into the depths of the Earth in search of the demon that killed her parents. These are just a few of the worlds of Out There Screaming, Jordan Peele’s anthology of all-new horror stories by Black writers. Featuring an introduction by Peele and an all-star roster of beloved writers and new voices, Out There Screaming is a master class in horror, and—like his spine-chilling films—its stories prey on everything we think we know about our world . . . and redefine what it means to be afraid.

For those of you who are fans of Jordan Peele’s movies and the new genre of Black horror, this anthology is definitely a must-read! This collection will pave the way for future African horror writers. Out There Screaming is just the beginning of what is to come. . .

The other contributors of the anthology include Erin E. Adams, Violet Allen, Maurice Broaddus, Chesya Burke, P. Djèlí Clark, Ezra Claytan Daniels, Tananarive Due, Nalo Hopkinson, N. K. Jemisin, Justin C. Key, L. D. Lewis, Rebecca Roanhorse, Nicole D. Sconiers, Rion Amilcar Scott, Terence Taylor, and Cadwell Turnbull.

We cannot wait to sink our teeth into this spine-chilling anthology.

Preorder here!