We have some exciting updates on the much awaited Sauutiverse anthology titled Mothersound. The collection is edited by Wole Talabie and will be published by Android Press on November 21.

Mothersound is the very first anthology of stories based on the fictional Sauúti story-verse made from a blend of African indigenous knowledges. The project, in its earlier iteration, is a collaboration between Nigerian sci-fi writer Wole Talabi, Haitian-American sci-fi writer Fabrice Guerrier, and Brittle Paper.

The name Sauúti is taken from the Swahili word for “voice”. In the anthology, Sauúti is a five-planet system orbiting a binary star, rooted in African mythologies, languages, and cultures. Featuring artificial intelligence, space flight, humanoid and non-humanoid creatures, this sci-fi world weaves the futuristic with African systems of sound, oral traditions, and music.

Check out the full contents of the anthology below:

Table of Contents

1. Foreword: I Dream Of Sauúti – Fabrice Guerrier

2. Welcome to the Sauútiverse – Wole Talabi

3. Our Mother, Creator – Stephen Embleton & Wole Talabi

4. What Has No Mouth? – Dare Segun Falowo

5. The Way of Baa’gh – Cheryl S. Ntumy

6. The Grove’s Lament – Tobias S. Buckell

7. Xhova – Adelehin Ijasan

8. A City, a Desert, and All Their Dirges – Somto Ihezue and Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki

9. Sina, the Child With No Echo – Eugen Bacon

10. The Rakwa Wa-Ya’yn – Stephen Embleton & Wole Talabi

11. Undulation – Stephen Embleton

12. The Hollowed People – T.L. Huchu

13. Muting Echoes, Breaking Tradition – Eye Kay Nwaogu

14. Kalabashing – J. Umeh

15. Lost in the Echoes – Xan van Rooyen

16. Hologhiri – Akintoba Kalejaye