Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Namwali Serpell. Photo credit: Peg Korpinski.

Namwali Serpell’s The Old Drift and Tope Folarin’s A Particular Kind of Black Man have been longlisted for the 2019 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, “awarded to the best debut novel of the year.” Both writers won the Caine Prize, in 2015 and 2013, respectively.

Serpell’s novel has been a massive hit with critics, with Salman Rushdie reviewing it for The New York Times Book Review. Released on 26 March 2019 by Penguin Random House imprint Hogarth, the 576-page The Old Drift is set on the Zambezi River and tells the story of three Zambian families—one black, one brown, one white—against the backdrop of history, science fiction, and fairytale. The multigenerational tale has been hailed as the Great Zambian Novel and drawn comparisons to Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s works of magical realism. Eyebrows were raised last week when the book was omitted from the Booker Prize longlist.

Forthcoming from Simon & Schuster on 6 August 2019, Folarin’s novel tells the story of Tunde Akinola and his struggle to make sense of his new life in America. It extends some of the key ideas in his Caine Prize-winning short story, “Miracle,” in order to address larger questions about the complexities of identity.

Tope Folarin. Photo by The Caine Prize.

Image from Tope Folarin’s Twitter.

Here is the full longlist of 27 novels:

  • The Affairs of the Falcóns by Melissa Rivero (Ecco)
  • American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson (Random House)
  • Bangkok Wakes to Rain by Pitchaya Sudbanthad (Riverhead Books)
  • The Bobcat by Katherine Forbes Riley (Arcade)
  • The Dearly Beloved by Cara Wall (Simon & Schuster)
  • Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips (Knopf)
  • The Falconer by Dana Czapnik (Atria Books)
  • Fall Back Down When I Die by Joe Wilkins (Little, Brown & Company)
  • The Farm by Joanne Ramos (Random House)
  • Goodnight Stranger by Miciah Bay Gault (Park Row)
  • The History of Living Forever by Jake Wolff (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • In West Mills by De’Shawn Charles Winslow (Bloomsbury)
  • The Gone Dead by Chanelle Benz (Ecco)
  • The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo (Doubleday)
  • The Old Drift by Namwali Serpell (Hogarth)
  • On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong (Penguin Press)
  • Oval by Elvia Wilk (Soft Skull Press)
  • The Paper Wasp by Lauren Acampora (Grove Press)
  • A Particular Kind of Black Man by Tope Folarin (Simon & Schuster)
  • A Prayer for Travelers by Ruchika Tomar (Riverhead)
  • A People’s History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian (Algonquin)
  • Riots I Have Known by Ryan Chapman (Simon & Schuster)
  • Tears of the Trufflepig by Fernando A. Flores (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • Tinfoil Butterfly by Rachel Eve Moulton (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • The Unpassing by Chia-Chia Lin (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates (One World/Random House)
  • We Cast a Shadow by Maurice Carlos Ruffin (One World/Random House)

The shortlist will be announced in September and the winner in December at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner.

Congratulations to Namwali Serpell and Tope Folarin.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Otosirieze Obi-Young

View all posts by Otosirieze Obi-Young
Otosirieze Obi-Young is a writer, journalist, & Deputy Editor of Brittle Paper. He sits on the judging panels of The Miles Morland Writing Scholarships and of The Gerald Kraak Prize. He is Nonfiction Editor at 14, Nigeria’s first queer art collective, which has published volumes including We Are Flowers (2017) and The Inward Gaze (2018). He is Curator at The Art Naija Series, a sequence of e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness, including Enter Naija: The Book of Places (2016), which explores cities, and Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (2017), which explores professions. His work in queer equality advocacy in literature has been profiled in Literary Hub. His fiction has appeared in The Threepenny Review and Transition. He has completed a collection of short stories, You Sing of a Longing, is working on a novel, and is represented by David Godwin Associates literary agency. He has an M.A. in African Studies and a combined honours B.A. in History & International Studies/English & Literary Studies, both from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He taught English in a private Nigerian university. He is currently nominated for the inaugural The Future Awards Prize for Literature. Find him at, where he accepts writing and editing offers, or on Instagram or Twitter: @otosirieze. When bored, he Googles Rihanna.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Oyinkan Braithwaite Wins the 2019 Anthony Award for Best First Novel

Photo credit: CrimeReads

Nigerian author Oyinkan Braithwaite has won the 2019 Anthony Award for her debut novel My Sister, the Serial Killer. Braithwaite […]

Winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards


On October 25, the African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) announced the winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards. The award announcement […]

Editor’s Note | 20.35 Africa: An Anthology of Contemporary Poetry, Volume II | Ebenezer Agu


In producing this anthology, there were challenges we had not foreseen, mostly because the individuals involved lived in different continents […]

Bibi Bakare-Yusuf, Sarah Ladipo Manyika, Olumide Popoola, Mukoma wa Ngugi at Stimmen Afrikas Literaturfestival in Cologne, Germany


From November 6 to November 9 2019, 33 guests from 19 countries, including several notable African authors, scholars, other individuals […]

Romeo Oriogun’s Debut Poetry Collection, Sacrament of Bodies, an Interrogation of Queerness, Masculinity & Nigerianness, Now Available for Pre-order


In 2018, the Nigerian poet Romeo Oriogun was named an Institute of International Education Artist Protection Fund Fellow and a […]

20.35 Africa | Momtaza Mehri, Megan Ross, Nadra Mabrouk, Saddiq Dzukogi Featured in Forthcoming Volume II, Guest-Edited by Yasmin Belkhyr & Kayo Chingonyi

READ: 20.35 Africa: An Anthology of Contemporary African Poetry, Volume 2 Earlier this year, we announced a call for submissions […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.