Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Photo credit: Chris Roussalkis, for Carleton University Newsroom

Canadian-South African author Kagiso Lesego Molope has been awarded the inaugural Pius Adesanmi Memorial Award for Excellence in African Writing for her novel, Such a Lonely, Lovely Road (2018). Molope’s award was announced during the closing banquet of the 3rd Biennial Conference of the African Studies Association of Africa, held October 24 to October 26, 2019, at the United States International University-Africa in Nairobi, Kenya.

The Pius Adesanmi Memorial Award was established in honor of Professor Pius Adesanmi, a Nigerian-born, Canada-based scholar who passed away tragically in the Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302 crash on March 10, 2019. The award honors an outstanding single-authored book focused on Africa and/or the global African world that covers any historical period, comes from any discipline or combination of disciplines, and is published in English, French, Portuguese, or an African language.

The judging committee for the award was chaired by Dr. Wangui wa Goro, a translator, writer, editor, and critic. The committee’s members included Tina Adomako, a publicist and journalist based in Dusseldorf; Professor Wangari Mwai, currently Associate Deputy Vice Chancellor-Student Affairs at the United States International University-Africa; Professor Akinola Odebunmi, currently the director of the University of Ibadan Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning; and Peter Wasamba, professor of African Literature at the University of Nairobi.

According to the judges, Kagiso Lesego Molope’s book:

was an exquisite book, sensitively and cleverly crafted, and one that was hard to put down. [Molope is] a highly gifted writer to watch.


Photo credit:

Molope is currently a graduate student at Carleton University. She knew and worked with Professor Adesanmi which, according to the African Studies Association of Africa’s press release, came as a pleasant surprise for the judges after the judging process. In a Carleton University press release, Molope said of the award:

This is meaningful on so many levels – but mainly because Prof. Adesanmi inspired excellence in all of us […] I’m truly honored.

Molope’s first novel, Dancing in the Dust (2002), was included as on the IBBY Honour List. Her second novel, The Mending Season (2005), was selected for the South African School Curriculum. Her third novel, This Book Always Betrays my Brother (2018), received the Percy Fitzpatrick Prize by the English Academy of South Africa and the Ottawa Book Award. The Pius Adesanmi Memorial Award adds to this growing list of commendations of Molope’s work.

Congratulations Kagiso Lesego Molope!


Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Apply to Africa Is a Country’s $3,000 Fellowship Program for Intellectual & Cultural Producers of Africa-Related Knowledge


The political and intellectual culture platform Africa Is a Country (AIAC) has announced its inaugural Fellowship Program, “of up to […]

Oxford English Dictionary Recognizes West African English, Adds 29 Nigerian Words & Senses

danfo buses in Lagos - guardian nigeria

Oxford English Dictionary has recognized West African English, bringing its number of World Englishes to 15, including Australian, Canadian, Caribbean, Hong Kong, Irish, […]

100 Most Influential Young Nigerians: Otosirieze Obi-Young, Arit Okpo, Kiki Mordi, Richard Akuson & Olutimehin Adegbeye Make Avance Media’s List

otosirieze obi-young, arit okpo, olutimehin adegbeye, richard akuson, kiki mordi on Avance Media's list of 100 most influential young nigerians

Brittle Paper’s Deputy Editor Otosirieze Obi-Young has been named one of the “100 Most Influential Young Nigerians” in 2019 by […]

For Working Class Writers & Refugees, Sulaiman Addonia Is Giving Out 40 Free Tickets to the Asmara Addis Festival

Asmara Addis Literray Festival in Exile (13)

When writing is described as an elitist profession, critics mean that opportunities in the field are determined by access, which […]

Modern Sudanese Poetry | New Anthology Spans Six Decades of Sudanese History & Cultural Intersections

Modern Sudanese Poetry - graph

Modern Sudanese Poetry: An Anthology, translated and edited by the Sudanese poet Adil Babikir, was published in paperback in September […]

Chuma Nwokolo Compensated in Plagiarism Lawsuit Against High Definition Film Studio, Shares More Stories of Plagiarism of His Work

chuma nwokolo by Yusuf Dahir

In November 2019, the Nigerian author Chuma Nwokolo called out Nollywood filmmaker Bright Wonder Obasi for using sections of his […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.