Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Booker Prize winner Bernardine Evaristo and breakout star Oyinkan Braithwaite have both been shortlisted for the 2020 Glass Bell Award shortlist.

Evaristo is shortlisted for her eighth novel Girl, Woman, Other , which has continued to garner critical acclaim since its publication in 2019.

Braithwaite is one of three debut novelists on the list with her murder mystery My Sister, the Serial Killer, which has been described as ‘clever’ and ‘wickedly funny’  and was longlisted for the Booker Prize in 2019.

Launched in 2017, the Glass Bell Award is sponsored by the London-based independent bookshop Goldsboro Books and is annually awarded to “an outstanding work of contemporary fiction, rewarding quality storytelling in any genre”. The winner receives £2,000 and a beautiful, handmade, engraved glass bell.

Notably, the 2020 shortlist is exclusively taken up by women.

Oyinkan was thrilled about the news.

David Headley, Goldsboro Books co-founder and MD and founder of the Glass Bell, commented:

Losing yourself in an incredible story is one of the greatest comforts available to us in these trying times – and each of these stories construct very different but equally immersive worlds for readers to inhabit. This shortlist highlights six of the best writers of fiction around today – who all happen to be women! I’m looking forward to our judging discussions – there’s so much to be said about each one of these remarkable novels, and choosing a winner will difficult but very rewarding.

The winner will be announced on 2nd July.

Congratulations to Bernardine Evaristo and Oyinkan Braithwaite!

Tags: , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Kwame Dawes’s “Yard Boy”: A Powerful Poem for Our Moment


Kwame Dawes recently wrote a poem titled “Yard Boy” that speaks to the recent events surrounding the death of George […]

Teju Cole’s Spotify Playlists Offer Musical Solace for These Times


Among Teju Cole’s many talents is his ability to curate music that captures a mood or even the feel of […]

Petina Gappah to Write Play About the Censorship History of Dambudzo Marechera’s Novel Black Sunlight

Untitled design

Petina Gappah recently announced that she was writing a play that focuses on “the 1982 banning and unbanning” of Dambudzo […]

Oh, Blessed Bri’Land | Jedah Mayberry | Fiction

fiction brittle paper Jedah Mayberry

Bri’Land glistened at me, her brilliant display of pink sand shimmering in delight.  It would seem that I had finally, […]

Books That Go with Wine and Books That Don’t

literary lifestyle wine and books

The beverages most associated with reading are tea and coffee. But many readers love to cozy up in bed with […]

In This House | Inok Rosemary | Poetry

poetry brittle paper inok rosemary

  In this house, we sift our words, Never letting the walls hear what they shouldn’t. The fear of their […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.