The African Speculative Fiction Society(ASFS) has announced  the winners of the 2021 Nommo Awards.

The winners were revealed at the 79th World Science Fiction Convention. The Master of Ceremonies was Sheree Renée Thomas. Presenters included Tochi Onyebuchi, Iquo DianaAbasi, and Suyi Davies Okungbowa.

The Nommo Awards recognizes the finest fantasy or science fiction works by African writers. The winners are voted on by the members of the African Speculative Fiction Society. The awards are given in four categories: Best Novel ($1000), Best Novella ($500), Best Short Story ($500), and Best Comic or Graphic Novel ($1000).

One of the big highlights for us is that “Behind Our Irises” by Tlotlo Tsamaase won best short story award. Tsamaase’s story appears in Africanfuturism: Anthology, a collection of sc-fi stories which we published in 2020. A welcome recognization for a ground breaking collection of speculative African fiction stories.

See the winners below:

The Ilube Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel by an African

  • The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi (winner)
  • Club Ded by Nikhil Singh
  • Soul Searching by Stephen Embleton

2021 Best Graphic Novel Award

  • Moongirls by Nana Akosua Hanson (writer) AnimaxFYB Studios (art) – Ghana Drama Queens Collective (winner).
  • Alexby Anna Mbale (writer) and Mwiche Songolo (artist) – Black Hut Comics
  • Black Sheep by Mwiche Songolo (writer & artist) – Black Hut Comics
  • Meanwhile…by Quinto Collab (various writers & artists), MaThoko’s Books, an imprint of GALA Queer Archive
  • New Men by Murewa Ayodele (writer) and Dotun Akande (artist) – Collectible Comics.
  • Titan by Mazuba Chimbeza (writer & artist) – Black Hut Comic

2021 Best Short Story Award

  • “Rat and Finch are Friends” by Innocent Chizaram Ilo (winner).
  • “Behind Our Irises” by Tlotlo Tsamaase (winner).
  • “Corialis” by T L Huchu
  • “The Bend of Water” by Tiah Marie Beautement
  • “The Goatkeeper’s Harvest” by Tobi Ogundiran

2021 Best Novella Award

  • Ife-Ikyoku: The Tale of Imadeyunuagbon by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (winner).
  • Guardians: The Awakening by David A. Atta
  • A Fledgling Abiba by Dilman Dila
  • The Silence of the Wilting Skin by Tlotlo Tsamaase
  • Riot Baby by Tochi Onyebuchi

Congratulations to the winners!