Submissions are now open for the 2023-2024 Evaristo Prize for African Poetry. This prize awards a cash prize of USD $1,500 to 10 poems written by an African poet, and we highly recommend budding poets to give it a shot!

British writer Bernardine Evaristo first established this prize as the Brunel International African Poetry Prize (BIAPP) in 2012 and managed it for 10 years. Last year, the Evaristo Prize was renamed and passed on to be managed by the African Poetry Book Fund, which promotes and advances the development and publication of the poetic arts in Africa.

Last year’s joint prize winners were Feranmi Ariyo (Nigeria) and Gracia “Cianga” Mwamba (Congo/USA).

This year, the judging panel includes Gabeba Baderoon (Chair), Tjawangwa Dema, and Mahtem Shiferraw.

Read more about the eligibility and submission guidelines below:

Eligibility Guidelines:

  • The Prize is open to African writers. An “African writer” is taken to mean someone who was born in Africa, who is a national or resident of an African country, or whose parents are African.
  • The prize is open to African poets who have not yet had a full-length poetry book published at the time of submission. Self-published poetry books, chapbooks, and pamphlets are exempt from this stipulation.
  • Only poems written in English can be considered, but we welcome poems in translation for consideration too. In the case that the winning work is translated, a percentage of the prize money would be awarded to the translator.
  • No past or present paid employees of the University of Nebraska Press, Akashic Books, or Amalion Press, or current faculty, students, or employees at the University of Nebraska are eligible for the prizes.
  • African poets who have published a chapbook in a New-Generation African Poets Chapbooks Box Set series remain eligible for the Evaristo African Poetry Prize if they have not published a full-length book of poems.

Submission Guidelines:

  • Poems must be the original work of the entrant and be no longer than 40 lines each.
  • Poems may have been previously published or won previous awards.
  • People who have entered previously for the prize can re-submit but are advised to share new poems.
  • Send your manuscript in Times New Roman or Arial, 12-point font, single-spaced, with one poem per page.
  • Poems must be submitted in a single document without any identifying information included. Alterations cannot be made to poems once entered.
  • The entire submission must be in black ink, no colors.
  • All entries must be submitted via Submittable.
  • The Submittable cover letter, which will be concealed to screeners and judges, should include the entrants’ name, nationality, country of birth, full address including country of permanent residence, personal email address and telephone number.

Go here for more info or direct questions to the Book Prize Coordinator Nicole Lachat.

Deadline: November 1, 2023

Submit here.