Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards


On October 25, the African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) announced the winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards. The award announcement and presentation of prizes were held at a ceremony during the Ake Book and Arts Festival, which took place from October 24 to October 27 in Lagos.

The ASFS is a body of African writers, editors, publishers and graphic artists who nominate shortlisted works and vote for the winners. The Nommo Awards, established in 2016, recognizes the finest fantasy or science fiction works by Africans. The awards are given in four categories: Best Novel ($1000), Best Novella ($500), Best Short Story ($500), and Best Comic or Graphic Novel ($1000).

Akwaeki Emezi’s Freshwater was announced winner for the category of Best Novel. The shortlist of six included Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi, Empty Monsters by Cat Hellisen, Knucklebone by Nechama Brodie, The Strange by Masha du Toit, and A Spy in Time by Imraan Coovadia.

Nerine Dorman’s The Firebird was announced winner for the category of Best Novella.The other shortlisted works were Binti: The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor, Hard Mary by Sofia Samatar, and Neid-Fire by Caldon Mull.

Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald’s “The Witching Hour,” published in Cosmic Roots and Eldritch Shores, was announced winner for the category of Best Short Story. The other shortlisted writers include: “Brand New Ways (to lose you over and over again)” by Blaize Kaye, published in Omenana; “The Girl Who Stared at Mars” by Cristy Zinn, published in AfroSFV3; “The Luminal Frontier” by Biram Mboob, published in AfroSFV3; “Memento Mori” by Tiah Marie Beautement, published in Omenana; “Njuzu” by T.L. Huchu, published in AfroSFV3; and “Origami Angels” by Derek Lubangakene, published in Omenana. 

Nnedi Okorafor’s Shuri: The Search for Black Panther (illustrated by Leonardo Romero) was announced winnter for the category of Best Graphic Novel. The other nominees include Akissi: Tales of Mischief by Marguerite Abouet (illustrated by Mathieu Sapin and translated by Judith Taboy and Marie Bédrune);  Black Panther: Long Live the King by Nnedi Okorafor (illustrated by André Araújo); Eru, by Tobe Max Ezeogu and Oz Ezeogu; Kwezi by Loyiso Mkize, Mohale Mashigo and Clyde Beech; Karmzah by Farida Bedwei and Ravi Allotey; Malika Warrior Queen Part Two by Roye Okupe and Chima Kalu; Rovik by Yvonne Wanyoike, Kendi Mberia, and Salim Busuru; Shaka Rising by Luke Molver; Tàtàshé, by Cassandra Mark and Tobe Max Ezeogu; and Under the Sun by Austine Osas, Abiodun Awodele,  and Yusuf Temitope.

Congratulations to Akwaeke Emezi, Nerine Dorman, Ekpeki Donald Oghenechovwe and Nnedi Okorafor!

Tags: , , , , ,

Chukwuebuka Ibeh is a Staff Writer at Brittle Paper. An alumnus of the Purple Hibiscus Trust Creative Writing Workshop, his work has been published in McSweeneys, Clarion Review, Charles River Journal and elsewhere. He was longlisted for the Awele Creative Trust Award in 2017 and was a finalist for the 2019 Gerald Kraak Award. In 2019, he was named by Electric Literature as 'One of the Most Promising New Voices of Nigerian Fiction' in a feature introduced by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. He is a regular contributor with the New England Review of Books and lives in Port Harcourt, Nigeria.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Romeo Oriogun Shares Heartfelt, Powerful Personal Story as Anticipation Peaks for His Debut Poetry Collection, Sacrament of Bodies

Romeo Oriogun - main

Romeo Oriogun’s debut poetry collection Sacrament of Bodies is still some 12 days away from its March 1 publication date […]

New Poetry Anthology, Wreaths for a Wayfarer, Published in Honour of Pius Adesanmi

pius adesanmi - graph (2)

A new poetry anthology, Wreaths for a Wayfarer, has been published in honour of Pius Adesanmi, who passed on in […]

Existence as Protest | Nigerian Visual Artist-Writer Osinachi’s Debut Solo Show Set for Kate Vasse Galerie, Zurich, with Foreword by Jason Bailey | March 2020


The Nigerian visual artist and writer Osinachi is set for his debut solo show. Themed “Osinachi: Existence as Protest,” it […]

Margaret Busby, Sarah Ladipo Mayinka, & Angela Wachuka to Discuss the Global Legacy of African Women Writers at the 2020 LSE Festival

Sarah ladipo manyika by James M. Manyika

The LSE Shape the World series is an annual festival hosted by the London School of Economics and Political Science. […]

Jose Eduardo Agualusa to Headline 2020 African Book Festival in Berlin 

Angolan author Jose Eduardo Agualusa poses for a photograph with his book A General Theory of Oblivion at a photocall in London on May 15, 2016, ahead of tomorrow's announcement of the winner of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize. / AFP / Leon NEAL        (Photo credit should read LEON NEAL/AFP/Getty Images)

The Angolan author Jose Eduardo Agualusa will headline the 2020 African Book Festival in Berlin, curated by the Angolan musician […]

#Valentine’sDay | Which Book Character Are You in Love With? 17 Writers Tell Us

Brittle Paper's Top 15 Debut Books of 2019

Writers love to write about love. Even in the fabric of fundamentally political books are scintillating love stories. These love […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.