African Writers Trust, under its Manuscript Assessment Program (MAP), is currently accepting submissions of unpublished manuscripts (novels, short story collections, poetry and biography) from African writers for evaluation and appraisal from experienced editors and readers.

The Manuscript Assessment Program, now in its second year, was set up “to inspire and motivate writers to develop their craft with the goal of publishing their manuscripts.” As part of the appraisal, the assessors will provide a detailed report on the manuscript (up to 2000 words), “focusing on key areas such as plot, structure, character development and dialogue, as well as on the quality of the writing.”

The assessors include Caine Prize winner Leila Aboulela, Commonwealth Short Story Prize winner Jennifer Makumbi, Emma Shercliff, Professor Jeanne -Marie Jackson Awotwi, Madhu Krishnan, Susan Nalugwa Kiguli, Jessica Atwooki Kaahwa, Gilbert Braspenning, and Goretti Kyomuhendo.

All manuscript submissions must be in English and should be accompanied with a synopsis of not more than 1000 words. Participating writers will need to pay a sum of USD 300 per manuscript.

Submissions can be made via [email protected] and [email protected] with the subject: Submission for Manuscript Assessment Programme. Read the full guidelines and details on payment HERE.

The deadline for submissions is January 12, 2021 (extended from January 5).