The Kendeka Prize is a literary competition administered by Kenyan-based Solano Publications Ltd and awarded to the best piece of unpublished short story by an African writer, either fiction or non-fiction.

They are currently accepting submissions for the 2021 edition. Entrants are required to submit stories of between 3,000 and 5,000 words.

The winner will receive KShs.100,000 ($911) while the second and third place winners will  receive Kshs 50,000 ($456) and 25,000 ($228) respectively. Two other finalists will receive Kshs 5,000 ($45) each. All long listed stories will be published in an anthology titled I Am listening, 2021 Edition. The prize will be awarded at a ceremony to be held during the Nairobi International Book Fair.

Deadline: 31 May, 2021 

Submission Guidelines.

  • Entrants must be born in, or are citizens of any African country.
  • One entry per writer.
  • Manuscripts should be of between 3000 and 5000 words.
  • All entries must be in English.
  • Entries should be attached in Microsoft Word or Rich Text format, with the title of the story as the file name.
  • The first page of the story should include the name of the story and the number of words.
  • The entry must be typed in Times New Roman 12 point font with 1.5 line spacing.
  • Entries must be sent as attachments to an email.
  • The email to which the story is attached must include the legal name of the writer, telephone number, a short Bio, age, and country of residence.
  • Entrants agree that the prize organizers may publicize the fact that a story has been entered, long listed, or shortlisted for the prize.
  • An author of a long listed story agrees to its inclusion in an anthology, and to work with editors to get the story ready for publication.
  • Every author confirms that the submission is their original work, it has not been published anywhere else, and that it has not been long listed in any other prize.
  • Every author gives exclusive global print and digital rights to Solano Publications Ltd for the long listed stories for publication in an anthology. The author retains the copyright.
  • The judges’ decision is final.

For more information on the prize, go here.