The Afritondo Short Story Prize have announced the sixteen writers longlisted for its 2022 edition.

The prize, which is in its third year, confers a cash award of $1,000 to an unpublished work of fiction (between 3,000 and 5,000 words) by an African/Black writer. Four finalists receive $100 each.

The 2022 edition was themed “Spirituality,” and called for short stories that brought varied, nuanced interpretations and explorations of the concept. The judging panel is chaired by Pemi Aguda (Nigeria), and includes Masande Ntshanga (South Africa), and Natasha Omokhodion-Banda (Zambia).

See the full Longlist below:

  1. Sabah Carrim (Mauritius)
  2. Bwanga Kapumpa (Zambia)
  3. Okwubi Godwin Adah (Nigeria)
  4. Alain Patrick Irere Hirwa (Rwanda)
  5. Uvile Memory Samkelisiwe Ximba (South Africa)
  6. Mazpa Ejikem (Nigeria)
  7. Jocelyn Fryer (South Africa)
  8. Efua Boadu (Ghana/UK)
  9. Howard Meh-Buh (Cameroon)
  10. Raheem Omeiza (Nigeria)
  11. Victor Ola-Matthew (Nigeria)
  12. Lynsey Chutel (South Africa)
  13. Somtochukwu Ihezue (Nigeria)
  14. Moses Musuku Abukutsa (Kenya)
  15. Obinna Obioma (Nigeria)
  16.  Alex Kadiri (Nigeria)

A shortlist of five stories will be announced in due course, and a winner soon after. All the longlisted stories will appear in an anthology.

Congratulations to the writers!