Chika Unigwe, the creative director of Awele Creative Trust.

The longlist for the 2022 Awele Creative Trust short story award is out, and there are 10 names. According to the press statement, submissions came from diverse regions in Nigeria and covered a broad range of themes such as love, belonging, politics and identity.

The Awele Creative Trust award is held annually. A short story of up to 5,000 words by a Nigerian writer aged between 16 and 26 wins the ₦50,000 cash award.

The judges were “impressed with the quality of writing, and some of the writers’ willingness to take risks (and successfully so).”

Each of these stories is a testament to the wealth of untapped talent in Nigeria. ACT congratulates all the longlisted authors and wishes them the very best of luck as they move forward in the competition.

Longlisted Authors:

  • Daniel Ogba for “Mockingbird”
  • Ifeoma Aroh for “Uloma”
  • Nnamdi Vin-Anuonye for “I Hope You Dance”
  • Osahon Izeiyamu for “Me, a Catalyst”
  • Godwin Adah for “Shine Shine Bobo”
  • Cole Olasubomi for “How to Love You Again”
  • Michael Emmanuel for “Everything Ends in Cycles”
  • Chinenye Anwunah for “Mirror On The Wall”
  • Rafiat Lamidi for “Traveller”
  • Akunna James-Ibe for “Ndubuisi”

Previous winners include Mustapha Enesi (2022), Caleb Adebayo (2014), Nneoma Ike Njoku (2015), Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke and Anthony Ezekwoh (2016), Imade Iyamu (2017), and Bakporhe Ufuomaoghene (2019).

A shortlist of 5 will be announced in March, and the winner in April. Fingers crossed for those longlisted! Congrats!