Jumoke Verissimo, who has been featured on Brittle Paper, is longlisted for the 2017 NLNG Prize for Literature.

The Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Prize has announced its 2017 longlist of eleven poets, and it includes such well known names as Tanure Ojaide, Obari Gomba, and Jumoke Verissimo whom we’ve featured.

At $100,000, the NLNG Prize for Literature is the richest in Africa, and honours a published book of literature. It rotates among four genres: poetry, prose fiction, drama, children’s literature. 2017 is for poetry.

Here are the longlisted poets and collections.

  • ​Iconography, Peter Akinlabi​.
  • One Day I’ll Dare to Raise My Middle ​​​​​​Finger at the Stork and the Reaper, Hyginus Ekwuazi.​​​
  • For Every Homeland, Obari​​​ Gomba.
  • A Good Mourning, Ogaga Ifowodo.​​​
  • Garri for Breakfast, Seun Lari-Williams.
  • Echoes of Neglect, Humphrey Ogu.​​
  • Songs of Myself: Quartet, Tanure Ojaide.
  • The Heresiad, Ikeogu​​ Oke​.
  • Blood Streams in the Desert, Abubakar Othman. ​​
  • The Birth of Illusion, Jumoke Verissimo.​
  • ​Of Waters and the Wild, Ebi Yeibo.​​​​

The judges are: Tade Ipadeola, winner of the 2013 prize, which was the last prize for poetry, for his collection, The Sahara Testaments; Razinat Mohammed, associate professor of literature at the Universty of Maidugri; and the chair, Ernest Enenyonu, professor of Africana Studies at the University of Michigan-Flint, USA.

The 2016 prize, for prose fiction, went to Abubakar Adam Ibrahim’s novel, Season of Crimson Blossoms.

The 2017 shortlist will be announced in September, and the winner in October.

Congratulations to the eleven poets.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Otosirieze Obi-Young

View all posts by Otosirieze Obi-Young
Otosirieze Obi-Young’s writing has been shortlisted for the 2016 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship, the 2017 Gerald Kraak Award, and nominated for a 2015 Pushcart Prize. His fiction has appeared in Transition (“A Tenderer Blessing,” 2015), The Threepenny Review (“Mulumba,” 2016), and Pride and Prejudice: African Perspectives on Gender, Social Justice and Sexuality (“You Sing of a Longing,” 2017), an anthology of The Jacana Literary Foundation and The Other Foundation. His work further appears in Interdisciplinary Academic Essays, Africa in Dialogue, and Brittle Paper, where he is submissions editor. He is the editor of the Art Naija Series: a sequence of concept-based e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness. The first anthology, Enter Naija: The Book of Places (Oct., 2016) focuses on cities. The second, Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (June, 2017) focuses on professions. He attended the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and currently teaches English at another Nigerian university. When bored, he blogs pop culture at naijakulture.blogspot.com or just Googles Rihanna.

3 Responses to “The 2017 NLNG Prize for Literature Longlist” Subscribe

  1. David 2017/07/24 at 08:55 #

    Congrats Jumoke! Rooting for you!

  2. pearl osibu 2017/07/24 at 10:43 #

    Jumoke for the moneyyyyyyy!! Ahoo.
    Congratulations to all the longlistees and good luck.

  3. Simeon Mpamugoh 2017/07/24 at 13:15 #

    Congrats Jumoke! more ink to your pen

Leave a Reply

I hold a doctorate in English from Duke University and recently joined the Marquette University English faculty as an Assistant Professor. I love teaching African fiction and contemporary British novels. Brittle Paper is the virtual space/station where I play and experiment with ideas on how to reinvent African fiction and literary culture.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


The Reviews Are In! | Namwali Serpell Has High Praise for Jennifer Makumbi’s Kintu

Screen-Shot-2017-09-20-at-4.57.42-PM-e1505944728679 copy

Jennifer Makumbi’s Kintu is one of the hit novels of 2017. A historical drama, it tells the story of an 18th […]

New Website Collects Everything Binyavanga Wainaina Has Written Since the Late 1990s

A new Website has collected everything published by Binyavanga Wainaina since his writing career began in the late 1990s. The […]

Opportunity for All Writers | Submit to Vanguard Literary Services’ HIV/AIDS Awareness Anthology

To mark the 2017 World HIV/AIDS Day on December 1, Vanguard Literary Services, a bookselling company in Nigeria, has called […]

The Graywolf Press Africa Prize Launches with Igoni A. Barrett as Judge

igoni a. barrett

A new award just dropped: the Graywolf Press Africa Prize, for “a first novel manuscript by an African author primarily residing […]

Nnedi Okorafor Celebrates Everyday African Life in New Superhero Comic

okorafor comics

A little over two years ago, South African Sci-fi writer Lauren Beukes collaborated with D. C. Comics on a Wonder […]

Redemption | Andrew Aondosoo Labe | Poetry


A Pastor says the devil landed here in ‘77. His broken legs can be seen in the twin-rivers. Three-eyed demons […]