Subscribe to Newsletter
Monthly Newsletter: Join more than 5,000 African literature enthusiasts!
Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our "Guide to African Novels."

Maryse Condé.

Narrative Landscape Press has acquired two new titles for its 2020/21 release cycle: Lupita Nyong’o’s children’s book Sulwe and The New Academy Prize in Literature winner Maryse Condé’s best-known novels Segu and Segu II; and signed three authors: the Nigerians Chibundu Onuzo and Yejide Kilanko, and the Kenyan Akbar Hussain. The authors’ books will be published in 2020.

Founded in 2016 by the editor Anwuli Ojogwu and the novelist Eghosa Imasuen, Narrative Landscape Press is a Lagos-based independent publisher whose authors include Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Oyinkan Braithwaite, and Marlon James.



Maryse Condé is a novelist, critic and playwright. Segu (1984) and its sequel Segu II: The Children of Segu (1985) are Maryse Condé’s major works and best-selling novels. The books examine the violent impact of the slave trade, Islam, Christianity, and white colonisation on a royal family in the early to mid-nineteenth century. In 2018, Condé won The New Academy Prize in Literature, a newly created alternate award to the Nobel Prize in Literature. Narrative Landscape Press will be publishing the French and English editions of the first of this duo of novels, which will be released in the first quarter of 2020.

Lupita Nyong’o’s Sulwe.


Sulwe, a New York Times bestseller, tells a powerful story about a child’s struggle with colourism, self-esteem, and the true beauty that comes from within. Written by Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong’o, this stunning debut picture book creates a whimsical and heart-warming story to inspire children to see their unique beauty. Narrative Landscape Press will be publishing a paperback edition for the West African market. It will be released in the second quarter of 2020.


Chibundu Onuzo

Chibundu Onuzo is an award-winning author. Her first novel, The Spider King’s Daughter, won a Betty Trask Award. It was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Commonwealth Book Prize and longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize and the Etisalat Prize for Literature (now the 9mobile Prize). Her upcoming novel is a captivating account of the journey of a grown woman to Africa in a quest to reunite with her biological father. It is an enthralling tale of love, rejection, and acceptance.

Yejide Kilanko.

Yejide Kilanko is a writer of novels, short stories, and poetry. Her debut novel, Daughters Who Walk This Path (2012), a Canadian national bestseller, was longlisted for the inaugural Etisalat Prize for Literature (now the 9mobile Prize) and the Nigeria Literature Prize. In 2012, she was named one of the top five hottest up-and-comers on the Canadian writing scene by the Globe and Mail. Her work includes a novella, Chasing Butterflies (2015), and a children’s picture book, There Is an Elephant in My Wardrobe (2018). In Juba and the Fireball, Yejide’s upcoming children’s book, Juba learns to manage his anger after it causes him to break Maami’s dyeing pot. It is a fable that teaches temper management for kids.

Akbar Hussain.

Akbar Hussain is a writer and a start-up lawyer. He lives in Nairobi, Kenya. Narrative Landscape Press will be publishing Moan of the Marabou, his debut work, which is described as a “front-line report” from Nairobi’s ongoing tryst with capitalism and democracy. Imagine if Joseph O’Neil and the Notorious BIG collaborated on the page; this is the tenor of Moan of the Marabou, a laconic, wry, keenly observed study of a time and place. It is an urban crime thriller following in the footsteps of William Boyd’s Ordinary Thunderstorms, Toni Kan’s The Carnivorous City, and Leye Adenle’s When Trouble Sleeps. With this book, Narrative Landscape Press asserts its bona fides as a pan-African publishing house for all African voices.

For further information or enquiries, please reach out to Narrative Landscape Press at: or 09090554406-7.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Otosirieze Obi-Young

View all posts by Otosirieze Obi-Young
Otosirieze Obi-Young is a writer, journalist, & Deputy Editor of Brittle Paper. The recipient of the inaugural The Future Awards Prize for Literature in 2019, he is a judge for The Gerald Kraak Prize and was a judge for The Morland Writing Scholarship in 2019. He is Nonfiction Editor at 14, Nigeria’s first queer art collective, which has published volumes including We Are Flowers (2017) and The Inward Gaze (2018). He is Curator at The Art Naija Series, a sequence of e-anthologies of writing and visual art focusing on different aspects of Nigerianness, including Enter Naija: The Book of Places (2016), which explores cities, and Work Naija: The Book of Vocations (2017), which explores professions. His work in queer equality advocacy in literature has been profiled in Literary Hub. His fiction has appeared in The Threepenny Review and Transition. He has completed a collection of short stories, You Sing of a Longing, is working on a novel, and is represented by David Godwin Associates literary agency. He has an M.A. in African Studies and a combined honours B.A. in History & International Studies/English & Literary Studies, both from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He taught English in a private Nigerian university. Find him at, where he accepts writing and editing offers, or on Instagram or Twitter: @otosirieze. When bored, he Googles Rihanna.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Brittle Paper, your go-to site for African writing and literary culture. We bring you all the latest news and juicy updates on publications, authors, events, prizes, and lifestyle. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram (@brittlepaper) and sign up for our "I love African Literature" newsletter.

Monthly Newsletter!

Subscribe for African literature news, and receive a free copy of our
"Guide to African Novels."


Derek Owusu Awarded 2020 Desmond Elliot Prize

Derek Owusu Awarded 2020 Desmond Elliot Prize (1)

British author of Ghanaian heritage Derek Owusu has been awarded the 2020 Desmond Elliot Prize for his debut novel That […]

My Sister, The Serial Killer Wins Crime Fiction Book of the Year

My Sister, The Serial Killer Wins Crime Fiction Book of the Year

Oyinkan Braithwaite’s comic crime thriller, My Sister, The Serial Killer (2018), has won the 2020 British Book Award for Crime Fiction […]

“I Have Come Undone” | Adichie Writes Moving Statement on Grieving for Her Father

chimamanda Adichie tribute father james nwoye adichie

Chimamanda Adichie’s father, Professor James Nwoye Adichie, died on Wednesday June 10, 2020. Today, the author breaks her silence around […]

Submit to Ouida Books’ New Imprint on Technology in Africa

Ouida Books is Currently Accepting Submissions for Her New Imprint LWM (2)

Lagos-based publishing press Ouida Books is accepting submissions for its new imprint LWM. LMW is the third addition to the […]

Wayétu Moore Announces New Novel Exploring Mami Wata Mythology

Wayétu Moore Announces New Novel Exploring Mami Wata Mythology

Liberian-American author Wayétu Moore is staying busy and productive. Barely a year since the release of her widely praised memoir […]

Tsitsi Dangarembga Petitions Parliament of Zimbabwe for Removal of Health Minister Obadiah Moyo

Tsitsi Dangarembga Obadiah Moyo (1)

On June 19, 2020, Zimbabwe Health Minister Obadiah Moyo was arrested on corruption charges for engaging in an illegal 60 […]

Thanks for signing up!

Never miss out on new posts. Subscribe to a digest, too:

No thanks, I only want the monthly newsletter.