The Nigerian Prize for Difference and Diversity has announced the fifteen finalists for its inaugural award. Founded by media personality Chude Jideonwo, the prize aims to foster a “culture of inclusion in all spheres of Nigerian life.” The fifteen finalists will receive mentorship opportunities and extensive media visibility. One winner will receive a 1,000,000 Naira cash award.

The finalists were selected by a judging panel that included actresses Nse Ikpe-Etim and Beverly Naya, journalists Kiki Mordi and Harry Itie, CNN Africa Voices host Arit Okpo, educator Ndukwe Igbokwe, actor and producer Eku Edewor, designer and entrepreneur Adebayo Okelawa, and consultant psychiatrist Gbonjubola Abiri.

In an email to Brittle Paper, Shola Bamidele notes that the finalists range from “Queer rights activists, cerebral palsy and autism advocates, to journalists, among others.”

The finalists are:

  • Ani Kayode Somtochukwu (Queer Liberation Activist)
  • Michael Nwah Ernest (Emotional & mental wellness Yoga coach)
  • Toluse Dove Francis (Therapist )
  • Oluwatobiloba Ajayi (Founder of the Let Cerebral Palsy Kids Learn Foundation)
  • Adelola Edema (Autism educator)
  • Michael Nwielua (Human Rights advocate)
  • Solomon Ayodele (Founder of Boys Quarters Africa)
  • Sada Malumfashi (Human Rights activist and journalist)
  • Daniel Orubo (Senior Editor of
  • Vincent Desmond (Editor in chief of
  • Angel Nduka- Nwosu (Cofounder of As Equals Africa)
  • Ezeigwe Juliet Chioma (Filmmaker and gender equality advocate)
  • Elizabeth Talatu Williams (Executive Director of the Sustainable Impact and Development Initiative)
  • Adakole Zainab (Women and girl child activist).
  • Chisom Ogbummuo (Founder and Executive Director of The Conversation Café)The

The profiles of the finalists can be found here. Announcement of the winner is set for December 10, 2020 on Human Rights Day.

Brittle Paper congratulates the finalists!