Earlier this year, we reported that Suyi Davies Okungbowa had a new trilogy forthcoming with Orbit Books. Well guess what — the cover for the first book in the trilogy has been revealed!

Okungbowa’s trilogy, The Nameless Republic, is set on the imaginary continent of Oon, which was inspired by the West African empires that were thriving during the Middle Ages. The title of the trilogy’s first book is Son of the Storm. Here’s a summary of the book from its publisher:

From one of the most exciting new storytellers in epic fantasy, the first book in the Nameless Republic trilogy is a sweeping tale of violent conquest and forbidden magic set in a world inspired by the pre-colonial empires of West Africa.

In the thriving city of Bassa, Danso is a clever but disillusioned scholar who longs for a life beyond the rigid family and political obligations expected of the city’s elite. A way out presents itself when Lilong, a skin-changing warrior, shows up wounded in his barn. She comes from the Nameless Islands- which, according to Bassa lore, don’t exist- and neither should the mythical magic of ibor she wields.

Now swept into a conspiracy far beyond his understanding, Danso and Lilong will set out on a journey that reveals histories violently suppressed and magic only found in lore.

Davies Okungbowa, who won a Nommo Award for his debut David Mogo, Godhunter, shared a cute video on Instagram for the cover reveal.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Suyi Davies Okungbowa (@suyidavies)

Son of the Storm is scheduled for release on May 11, 2021. Pre-order the book now at major retailers or your favorite local bookshop.