Ghanaian author Ayesha Haruna Attah has a new book on its way. Titled Zainab Takes New York, the 352-pages novel, Haruna’s fifth, follows a young woman in pursuit of her dreams and on a quest to find love.

The novel was pitched by Attah’s agent Maria Cardona at Pontas Literary Agency, to Jess Whitlum-Cooper at Headline Accent, reports Publishers Weekly. It is scheduled for ebook publication in August 2021 and paperback in April 2022.

Here’s a description of the novel by Ayesha’s agents;

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

From a powerful new voice in commercial fiction comes ZAINAB TAKES NEW YORK – a charming romcom about one woman learning to fall in love in one of the most magical cities on earth. A simultaneous love letter to New York City, and to Zainab’s ancestors, Ayesha Harruna Attah’s novel is perfect for fans of Uzma Jalaluddin’s AYESHA AT LAST.

Zainab Sekyi is on a quest to find herself.

She’s moving to New York City to pursue her lifelong dream to become an illustrator, but she doesn’t just want to get a job. She’s also on a mission to make enough money to go on a night out, buy a whole bottle of wine (not just a glass) and, most importantly of all, to fall in love.

But as she grows accustomed to the hustle and bustle of city life – with the help of her new roommate Mary Grace, and life-long friend, Densua – she begins to hear the voices of her ancestors in her mind. . .

Could understanding her family’s past hold the key to Zainab’s future?”

Born in Ghana and based in Senegal, Ayesha Haruna Attah is the author of four novels including the Commonwealth Prize-shortlisted Harmattan Rain (2009) and Saturday’s Shadows (2015) which was nominated for the Kwani Manuscript Contest. She was a 2014 Africa Centre Artists in Residency Award Laureate and Instituto Sacatar Fellow. A 2016 Miles Morland scholar, she was a finalist for the 2020 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing.