Writers Space Africa (WSA), in collaboration with the African Writers’ Development Trust (AWDT), has announced a call for the 2021 African Writers Awards. In its third year, the literary award annually celebrates writers in the category of poetry, creative non-fiction, and drama. The 2021 edition is themed “The Future of Africa.” Winners in each of the 3 genres will individually receive $100 and a certificate.

The award is traditionally presented at the African Writers Conference which rotates around different cities within the continent yearly. The 2021 edition will be held in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

Members of the judging panel chaired by Anthony Onugba include Sabah Carrim (Mauritius), Comfort Nyati, SDB (Zimbabwe), Nabilah Usman (Nigeria), and Temani Nkalolang (Botswana).

Deadline: 31st May 2021

Submission Guidelines 

  • You’re allowed to submit to only one category.
  • All submissions must be in English.
  • The author retains copyright.

For more details on submissions, go here.

Learn more about the 2021 jury here.