Eight writers from ten African countries are on the longlist of the 2021 The Island Prize, which seeks to highlight new writers from the continent and create an opportunity for them to share their work with a wider audience.

The prize which was set up in honor of South African author Karen Jennings’ Booker-longlisted novel An Island, is administered by Jennings in collaboration with her publishers Holland House Books (UK) and Karavan Press (South Africa). In addition to a cash award of £500, £300, and £200 for first, second and third place respectively, the top three manuscripts will be considered for publication, and their authors introduced to an agent.

The inaugural longlist is a truly diverse one, with the writers spread across a dozen African countries, including South Africa (3), and Algeria, Cameroon, Kenya, Nigeria, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe with one each.

See the longlist below:

  • Doreen Anyango (Uganda) for A Darkness With Her Name On It
  • Dominic Mucheri Nderi Gacharia (Kenya) for On Honourable Minister’s Service
  • Mali Kambandu (Zambia) for The Dead Should Never Lie
  • Tšepang Molisana (South Africa) for Bread and Butter Pudding
  • Ikenna Okeh (Nigeria) for Deportee
  • Marina Auer (South Africa) for Single Minded
  • Sarah Isaacs (South Africa) for Glass Tower
  • Hamza Koudri (Algeria) for Sand Roses
  • Joyce Nwankwo (Cameroon) for Delightful Cage
  • Lucille Sambo (Zimbabwe) for She Elephant

A shortlist of five will be announced on April, and a winner soon after.

Congratulations to the writers!